Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Asian Para Games

Asian Para Games 2023: List of Podium Sweeps by Indian Athletes

India finished the Asian Para Games 2023 with a record 111 medals. Of all the events Indian athletes competed in, they managed to make a podium sweep in four events, three in Athletics and one in chess.

Asian Para Games 2023: List of Podium Sweeps by Indian Athletes

Indian para-athletes Sundar Singh Gurjar, Rinku and Ajeet Singh posed for photographs after clean-sweeping the Javelin Throw F46 event at the Asian Para Games.  


Deepanshu Jain

Updated: 28 Oct 2023 11:00 AM GMT

Asian Para Games 2023 has come to an end on Saturday, with the Indian contingent registering a historic fifth-place finish. India won a record 111 medals, including 29 gold, 31 silver and 51 bronze, the country's highest-ever tally at the Asian Para Games in Hangzhou, China.

Para-athletics proved to be the most successful sport for India one more time as Indian athletes managed to win 55 medals in these events. Of these medals, nine came from the three events - Men's Club Throw F51, Men's Discus throw F54/55/56 and Men's Javelin Throw F46, where India clean swept the podium.

India also managed a historic podium sweep in Chess, where Indian players won all three medals in the Men's Individual Rapid V1-B1 event.

Here is a lowdown on India's clean sweeps at the Asian Para Games in Hangzhou:


Men's Club Throw F51

India's first clean sweep came in athletics when Pranav Soorma (Gold), Dharambir (Silver) and Amit Kumar (Bronze) swept the podium in the Men's Club Throw F51 event. Pranav Soorma took the gold medal with a Games record of 30.01m followed by Dharambir (28.76) and Amit (26.93).

Men's Discus throw F54/55/56

The second clean sweep for India came in the Men's discus throw event where Neeraj Yadav (Gold), Yogesh Kathuniya (Silver) and Muthuraja (Bronze) swept the podium. Neeraj Yadav took the Gold medal with a new Asian Record of 38.56m in the F55 category followed by F56 player Yogesh Kathuniya (42.13m) and Muthuraja (35.06m).

Men's Javelin Throw F46

Sundar Singh Gurjar (Gold), Rinku (Silver) and Ajeet Singh (Bronze) completed India's third clean sweep in Men's Javelin Throw F46. Sundar won the gold medal, creating a new World Record of 68.60m. He was closely followed by Rinku (67.08m) and Ajeet Singh (63.52m).


Men's Individual Rapid V1-B1 event

On the final day of the Asian Para Games, India registered another clean sweep; this time in a Chess event. Inani Satish Darpan clinched the gold medal with six points followed by Soundarya Kumar Pradhan (5.5 points) and Ashwinbhai Kanchanbhai Makwana (5 points).

List of Double Podium finishes by India:

Athletics:-Men's High jump T63-(๐Ÿฅ‡,๐Ÿฅˆ)-Shailesh Kumar-Mariyappan

Badminton:-Men's Singles SL3-(๐Ÿฅ‡,๐Ÿฅˆ)-Pramod Bhagat-Nitesh Kumar

Athletics:-Men's High jump T47-(๐Ÿฅ‡,๐Ÿฅˆ)-Nishad Kumar-Ram Pal

Athletics:-Women's 1500m T11-(๐Ÿฅ‡,๐Ÿฅˆ)-Rakshita Raju-Lalitha

Badminton:-Men's Singles SL4-(๐Ÿฅ‡,๐Ÿฅ‰)-Suhas Yathiraj-Sukant Kadam

Athletics:-Men's High jump T64-(๐Ÿฅ‡,๐Ÿฅ‰)-Parveen Kumar-Unni Renu

Athletics:-Men's Javelin throw F64-(๐Ÿฅ‡,๐Ÿฅ‰)-Sumit-Pushpendra

Athletics:-Men's Javelin throw F55-(๐Ÿฅ‡,๐Ÿฅ‰)-Neeraj Yadav-Tek Chand

Athletics:-Men's Shot Put F46-(๐Ÿฅ‡,๐Ÿฅ‰)-Sachin Khilari-Rohit Kumar

Badminton:-Women's Singles SU5-(๐Ÿฅ‡,๐Ÿฅ‰)-Thulasimathi-Manisha

Badminton:-Men's Doubles SL3-SL4-(๐Ÿฅ‡,๐Ÿฅ‰)-Nitesh/Tarun-Pramod/Sukant

Shooting:-Men's 10m Air Pistol SH1-(๐Ÿฅˆ,๐Ÿฅ‰)-Rudransh Khandelwal-Manish Narwal

Athletics:-Men's 1500m T46-Parmod-(๐Ÿฅˆ,๐Ÿฅ‰)-Rakesh Bhaira

Para-Powerlifting:-Women's 61 KG-(๐Ÿฅˆ,๐Ÿฅ‰)-Zainab Khatoon-Raj Kumari

Athletics:-Men's Shot Put F57-(๐Ÿฅˆ,๐Ÿฅ‰)-Soman Rana-Hokato

Athletics:-Men's Javelin F54-(๐Ÿฅˆ,๐Ÿฅ‰)-Pradeep-Laxit

Badminton:-Women's Doubles SL3-SU5-(๐Ÿฅˆ,๐Ÿฅ‰)-Manasi/Thulasimathi-Mandeep/Manisha

Badminton:-Mixed Doubles SL3-SU5-(๐Ÿฅ‰,๐Ÿฅ‰)-Nitesh/Thulasimathi-Pramod/Manisha

Badminton:-Women's Singles SL3-(๐Ÿฅ‰,๐Ÿฅ‰)-Manasi Joshi-Mandeep Kaur

Next Story