Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Indian Premier League 2021

IPL 2021: RR vs DC: The numbers that matter

Rishabh Pant and David Miller rescue their teams with half-centuries after top-order failures.

Both Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson are leading their respective teams in an IPL season for the first time in 2021 [Credits: The Quint]

Rishabh Pant's DC failed to hit a single six on the night [Credits: The Quint]


Anjishnu Roy

Updated: 16 April 2021 5:15 AM GMT

Death, taxes, and last over IPL drama are the three constants in life.

Drama appears to be the theme for IPL 2021 yet again and the match between Delhi Capitals and Rajasthan Royals stayed true to this season's nature.

Batting first, DC lost three wickets in the Powerplay itself and though Rishabh Pant scored a vital half-century, Delhi Capitals failed to get enough runs on board on the Wankhede wicket.

Jaydev Unadkat was the pick among the bowlers for RR, scalping three wickets for just 15 runs in his spell of four overs.

Rajasthan Royals were the favourites going into the chase.

However, that changed soon when they ended up losing Jos Buttler, Manan Vohra, and Sanju Samson within the first four overs.

With the game slipping out of their hands, David Miller scored a superb half-century to keep his side in the match.

After his dismissal, a Delhi Capitals win looked increasingly probable when blockbuster signing Chris Morris took charge of the game and finished it off in style in the final over, and with just a couple of deliveries left.

Let's take a look at a few stats and numbers from the game.

Drought of sixes

Delhi Capitals failed to hit a single six during their innings tonight, marking the first time an IPL inning finished without a six being hit in Mumbai (in 215 innings and across all three grounds).

Most legal deliveries...

This IPL match also had the most legal deliveries bowled in an IPL match before a ball was deposited into the stands.

It took 212 balls for the first six of the game to arrive when Avesh Khan bowled to David Miller.

The previous record belonged to the Rajasthan Royals versus Chennai Super Kings match in 2011.

Not the night for top-order batsmen

David Miller registered his 10th IPL half-century tonight. [Credits: The Telegraph]

The match between RR and DC is now the first T20 match where both teams had a player scoring a half-century (David Miller and Rishabh Pant) after their top three batsmen were dismissed for single digits.

The first four wickets...

This was also the first instance in IPL where the first four wickets of both the innings fell when batsmen were on single-digit scores.

29 runs in the last 2 overs

Morris scored 29 runs in the final two overs to win the game for DC. This is now the third-best such effort in a winning cause in the IPL.

Dhoni had scored 30 in the final two overs in a win against Punjab in 2010. Thereafter, in 2020, Jadeja had scored 29 in the final two overs in a win against KKR.

Rabada and the 19th over

Only two batsmen have hit two sixes against Rabada in the 19th over in the IPL - Chris Morris on the night and Hardik Pandya in 2020.

Unadkat's best IPL powerplay figures

The left-arm seamer returned figures of 3/12 in the powerplay against DC. This bettered his previous best of 2/5 against MI back in 2017.

A top-3 collapse followed by a fifty

The RR vs DC match turned out to be the first-ever T20 game where both teams had a player each scoring a fifty after the top-3 batsmen from their respective sides were gone for single-digit scores.

The first time ever...

Both RR and DC lost their first four batsmen to single-digit scores. And this is the first such instance in IPL.

DC: Shaw (2), Dhawan (9), Rahane (8), Stoinis (0)

RR: Buttler (2), Vohra (9), Samson (4), Dube (2).

No sixes for DC

DC did not clear the ropes at all against RR. This is the first time ever at Mumbai that no six was struck in an IPL inning out of 215 innings played across three venues in the city.

5 ducks, 5 different bowlers

Stoinis has now registered five ducks in the IPL and each of those was against bowlers from five different countries - Andre Russell (WI), Lasith Malinga (SL), Shreyas Gopal (India), Trent Boult (NZ) and Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh).

Next Story