Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


US Open 2020: Everything you need to know - Indian players, Draw, Time in IST

US Open 2020: Everything you need to know - Indian players, Draw, Time in IST

Suraj Iyer

Published: 31 Aug 2020 1:38 PM GMT

US Open, the prestigious tennis tournament known all over the world decided to begin the tournament on August 31st. This is one of the many sporting events to open amidst the coronavirus pandemic which has brought many sports and recreational activities to a halt. Though the schedule is subject to change, the Men’s Singles final event has been marked to take place on 13th September. Three Indian players will be playing in the main draw of this year's US Open.

Indian tennis player Sumit Nagal, the junior Grand Slam champion is part of the US Open in the Men’s Singles event. After his debut appearance at the Grand Slam twelve months ago, Nagal is now set to play against southpaw tennis player Bradley Klahn in the first round. A victory in the first round will have him facing World no. 3 Dominic Thiem. Since last year’s iconic match with Roger Federer, Sumit has qualified from the quarterfinals at Prague Open, a Challenger Tour event.

Sumit’s first match in the U.S. Open 2020 will take place on 1st September (Day-02) on 8:30pm IST.

Rohan Bopanna and Divij Sharan have signed up to play in the doubles category. Bopanna is paired with Canada’s Denis Shapovalov and will face USA duo Ernesto Escobedo and Noah Rubin in the first round on Spetember 2. On the same day, Divij Sharan will play alongside Serbia’s Nikola Cacic who and will be facing Netherlands’ Wesley Koolhof and Croatia’s Nikola Mektic in the first round. Doubles Schedule yet to be announced.

Sania Mirza is currently World No 226 but has a special ranking of World No 9 before she went off injured in 2017. She has decided to skip this year's tournament citing safety concerns over the Coronavirus pandemic. No women's player from India has ever qualified for the singles event in the US Open.

Also read: Tennis: Nagal, Bopanna joins Djokovic led Players’ Association

Next Story