Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Women's Cricket

Shafali Verma to lead India at U19 World Cup - Take a look at the complete squad

While Shafali Verma was named the captain, Richa Ghosh too has been named in the squad.

Shafali Verma to lead India at U19 World Cup - Take a look at the complete squad

Shafali Verma (File Photo/Getty)


The Bridge Desk

Updated: 5 Dec 2022 7:52 AM GMT

The BCCI, on Monday, announced the Indian squad for the upcoming inaugural edition of the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup. Experienced batter Shafali Verma, who is a vital cog in the wheel of the senior team has been named the captain.

Wicketkeeper Richa Ghosh, who played in the 2022 ICC Women's World Cup earlier in this year also features in the 15-member squad.

Assisting Shafali Verma on the field will be Shweta Sehrawat, who is currently captaining the Indian team in their ongoing T20 series against New Zealand U19.

The squad also includes talented batters G Trisha, Soumya Tiwari who have put up decent performances in the domestic as well as international circuit.

India's bowling challenge for the global event will be led by Titas Sadhu alongside the likes of Hurley Gala, Shabnam, Parshavi Chopra and others. Hrishita Basu has been named as the second wicket keeper in the squad behind Richa Ghosh.

The inaugural edition of the ICC U19 Women's T20 World Cup will be held from 14th January to 29th January 2023 in South Africa.

India, who have been drawn in Group D will kickstart their campaign with a clash against the hosts on the opening day of the tournament. The other teams in Group D include Scotland, and UAE.

The top three teams from the each group will move into the Super Six stage, where all the qualified 12 teams will be divided into a group of six each. The top two teams of these groups will then move into the semifinal.

Indian squad:

Shafali Verma (C), Shweta Sehrawat (VC), Richa Ghosh (WK), G Trisha, Soumya Tiwari, Sonia Mehdiya, Hurley Gala, Hrishita Basu (WK), Sonam Yadav, Mannat Kashyap, Archana Devi, Parshavi Chopra, Titas Sadhu, Falak Naz, Shabnam MD
Standby players: Shikha, Najla CMC, Yashashree.

Next Story