Tuesday, December 1, 2020
  • Players Speak
  • Coach’s Corner
  • Forgotten Heroes
  • Para Sports
  • From The Grassroots
  • Sports Market
  • Videos
Home News Saurav and Joshna advance to final of Senior National Squash C'ships

Saurav and Joshna advance to final of Senior National Squash C’ships

Saurav Ghosal and Joshna Chinappa will be hoping to scalp their 13th and 18th title respectively after reaching the final of the Senior National Squash championship.

Saurav scripted an 11-9, 11-1, 11-8 victory over 21-year-old Abhay Singh, while Joshna outclassed Maharashtra’s 18-year-old Sanya Vats 11-9, 11-7, 11-4 in the semifinals on February 14.

Second seed Abhishek Pradhan beat Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu, a former champion in a five-game thriller 11-6, 12-10, 10-12, 9-11, 11-7.

Between Tanvi Khanna and Sunayna Kuruvilla, the former won 11-6, 3-11, 11-8, 8-11, 12-10.

Ghosal is one of India’s best male squash players, having won the Senior National Squash Championships title 12 times in his career. Chinappa has 17 national championships to her name.

 Joshna Chinappa has been 18-time National Champion.
Joshna Chinappa has been 17-time National Champion.

There have also been speculation on whether the Asian Team squash championships scheduled to held in Kuala Lumpur from March 25 to 29 will go on as per schedule despite the threat of Coronavirus.

But Major S. Maniam, Director of Coaching at Squash Racquets Association of Malaysia (SRAM), told the media that the event will take place if the teams and players do not pull themselves out of it.

Two days ago we (SRAM) had a meeting with the Ministry of Health and they said we can continue with the event as long as the participants come and get screened at the airport. If they find a cause for concern, they will have to undergo a medical check-up. The Asian Squash Federation has also sent out a circular to all participating teams that the event is on until further notice,” he said as per Sportstar.


Mithali Raj and Jhulan Goswami nominated for the ICC decade awards

Jhulan Goswami and Mithali Raj
The International Cricket Council (ICC) honours the players with awards at the end of each year, but as 2020 marks the end of a decade, this year the awards focuses on the performance of the cricketers in the entire decade. The Indian skipper and the...