Wednesday, July 8, 2020
  • Players Speak
  • Coach’s Corner
  • Forgotten Heroes
  • Para Sports
  • From The Grassroots
  • Sports Market
  • Videos
Home News Apurvi Chandela, Divyansh Singh Panwar clinch gold medals in Meyton Cup

Apurvi Chandela, Divyansh Singh Panwar clinch gold medals in Meyton Cup

Indian shooters enjoyed a successful start to 2020 in the Meyton Cup International Shooting Championship.


Shooting stalwart Apurvi Chandela produced a magnificent showing as she won a gold in the Meyton Cup International Shooting Championship. Competing in the 10 metres women’s air rifle category in Innsbruck, Austria, the Indian won the competition with a score of 251.4 points, as she defeated Seonaid Mcintosh by 0.2 points.

The Great Britain shooter had shot a score of 629.7 in the qualification and clinched second position, while another Indian Anjum Moudgil, who had won the Olympic quota place after clinching a silver in the World Championship last year, came third. Both Chandela and Moudgil had identical scores in the qualification round – 630.1.

Also read: Indian shooting team finishes as No. 1 ranked side in 2019 ISSF World Cups

Divyansh and Deepak Kumar
Divyansh and Deepak Kumar (Image:

In the men’s air rifle event, India’s Divyansh Singh Panwar bagged a gold as he shot 249.7 to claim top honours. He edged out silver medalist Dane Sampson of Australia by 0.7 points. Deepak Kumar took the bronze medal home.

Last year, Chandela had returned with a gold and a bronze from the Meyton Cup. In the first competition, the Indian shooter had managed to beat Aneta Brabcova of Czech Republic, while in the second, Moudgil had qualified with a score of 630.3, but had to settle for bronze.

Also read: Federation yet to decide on Commonwealth Shooting medals being added to final CWG 2022 tally

Vinita Bhardwaj, the World University champion, had finished with a bronze medal with a score of 230.1 in the first competition, while Anjum Moudgil, had finished seventh after finishing in fifth position in the qualification. She was unable to enter the finals in the second competition.

The Results from Meyton Cup 2020:

Women’s 10m Air Rifle Competition 1: 1. Apurvi Chandela (IND) 251.4 (630.1); 2. Seonaid Mcintosh (GBR) 251.2 (629.7); 3. Anjum Moudgil (IND) 229.0 (630.1).

Women’s 10m Air Rifle Competition 2: 1. Anastasia Galashina (Rus) 252.9 (629.9); 2.Iulia Karimova (Rus) 252.3 (630.4); 3. Apurvi Chandela 231.1 (630.3)

Men’s 10m Air Rifle: 1. Divyansh Singh Panwar (IND) 249.7 (628.4); 2. Dane Sampson (AUS) 249.0 (628.3); 3. Deepak Kumar (IND) 228.3 (629.4).


IOA adopts new identity on its 100-year milestone at Olympic Games

IOA New Logo
The Indian Olympic Association (IOA) on Monday adopted a new branding and visual identity, including an institutional and a commercial logo, to celebrate a century of participation of the country's athletes at the Summer Olympics. The IOA said the decision to adopt a new identity...