Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Para Sports

Six Indian archers punch their ticket to 2024 Paris Paralympics

India's magnificent performance at the 2023 World Para Archery Championship has produced six Paris Paralympics quota spots to Indian archers.

Six Indian archers punch their ticket to 2024 Paris Paralympics

16-year-old Sheetal Devi became one of the six Indian archers to secure a spot at the 2024 Paris Paralympics. 


Abon Gooptu

Published: 23 July 2023 3:32 PM GMT

India has had a memorable outing at the World Archery para championships in Pilsen, Czech Republic.

The tournament has produced three medals for India and simultaneously granted six Olympics qualification spots for the Indian archers.

Sixteen-year-old Sheetal Devi made history by becoming the first armless female archer to make a world final. She secured India’s only individual medal at the World Archery Para Championship after clinching silver in the compound women's open event.

Compound archers Rakesh Kumar and Sarita achieved a historic gold when they emerged triumphant in the Compound Open Mixed Doubles event.

Together, they defeated the Brazilian duo of Jane Gogel and Reinaldo Ferreira 152-146 in the final to secure India’s first-ever gold at the World Archery Para Championship.

Sarita’s triumphs didn’t end there. She paired up with Jyoti to win bronze in the Compound Women's Doubles event.

Although Sarita couldn’t come up on top in the Compound Women's Singles bronze medal match. She had to settle for fourth, succumbing to Brazilian archer Jane Karla Gogel.

Harvinder Singh and Pooja recently became the latest additions to the list of Indian archers to secure a quota place for the 2024 Paris Olympics.

Singh finished ninth (recurve men open) and Pooja finished fourth (recurve women open) respectively to cement their Paris spots.

The final list of Indian para-archers to qualify for the 2024 Paris Paralympics are:

Harvinder Singh (recurve men open)

Pooja (recurve women open)

Rakesh Kumar (compound men open)

Shyam Sundar Swami (compound men open)

Sarita (compound women open)

Sheetal Devi (compound women open)

Next Story