Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Indian Premier League 2021

IPL 2021: Schedule, Fixtures, Timings, All You Need To Know!

The moment we have all been waiting for is finally here! Gear up for an exciting end to IPL 2021.

IPL 2021 trophy (Source: ABP News)

IPL 2021 trophy (Source: ABP News)


Ananth Narasimman

Updated: 16 Sep 2021 9:10 PM GMT

After months of doubt and despair caused due to the pandemic, it is a huge sigh of relief for cricket fans around the world, as the 2021 Indian Premier League is set to take place in the United Arab Emirates on September 19th after careful planning by the BCCI.

The board had to bypass multiple hurdles to even think of conducting an event at this scale, as it required coordination between multiple departments, boards and governments to get the approval. Other boards had to be contacted to prepone their leagues to ensure the safe bubble-to-bubble transfer of their players. The BCCI requested Cricket West Indies to prepone the Caribbean Premier League, 2021, which was scheduled from August 28th to September 19th. The CWI honoured their request and rescheduled the tournament from August 25th to September 15th to avoid the clash of schedules between the CPL and IPL. This move facilitated the smooth transfers of IPL bound players from the Caribbean nations.

New Zealand's tour of Pakistan clashed with the second leg of the tournament, causing yet another problem for the BCCI, but this was resolved as the NZC (New Zealand Cricket) cleared their players to participate in the IPL despite the clash of schedules. The postponement of England's tour of Bangladesh was yet another blessing for the board, as this cleared the way for English players to participate despite a couple of big names like Jonny Bairstow, Chris Woakes and Dawid Malan dropping out later.

The decisive action that was taken by the BCCI, along with cooperation from other boards and a gentle blessing from Lady Luck, helped solve the availability problem of foreign players for the IPL 2021.

Eight teams are ready to battle it out to be crowned champion in this year's edition of the IPL. The fixtures and resumption of the tournament in a bio-bubble condition will not only test the player's physical mettle but also their mental resolve. This would be one of the most exciting yet difficult finishes to the tournament with the various challenges posed to the players, teams and the authorities conducting the tournament.

IPL 2021 is set to take place across three venues, namely Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah. The biggest news comes in the form of the board allowing fans into the stadium, giving the teams an additional boost that they desperately lacked in the first leg. Fans have witnessed legendary innings like Sachin Tendulkar's desert storm masterclass at Sharjah and will be looking forward to the best players in the world strutting their stuff.

The league phase of the tournament is set to run until October 8th, followed by the first qualifier on October 10th, the eliminator on the 11th, and the second qualifier on the 13th. The finals are set to take place on October 15th, two days before the scheduled start of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup, giving the players little time to recuperate before joining their national teams.

The fixtures have given us the chance to see a couple of belters with juicy matchups all around the table. Here are the complete fixtures for the second leg of IPL 2021.

30Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings19 September, Sunday7:30 PMDubai
32Punjab Kings vs Rajasthan Royals21 September, Tuesday7:30 PMDubai
34Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders23 September, Thursday7:30 PMAbu Dhabi
35Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Chennai Super Kings24 September, Friday7:30 PMSharjah
36Delhi Capitals vs Rajasthan Royals25 September, Saturday3:30 PMAbu Dhabi
39Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians26 September, Sunday7:30 PMDubai
40Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Rajasthan Royals27 September, Monday7:30 PMDubai
41Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Capitals28 September, Tuesday3:30 PMSharjah
42Mumbai Indians vs Punjab Kings28 September, Tuesday7:30 PMAbu Dhabi
43Rajasthan Royals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore29 September, Wednesday7:30 PMDubai
44Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Chennai Super Kings30 September, Thursday7:30 PMSharjah
45Kolkata Knight Riders vs Punjab Kings1 October, Friday7:30 PMDubai
46Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals2 October, Saturday3:30 PMSharjah
47Rajasthan Royals vs Chennai Super Kings2 October, Saturday7:30 PMAbu Dhabi
48Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Punjab Kings3 October, Sunday3:30 PMSharjah
49Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers Hyderabad3 October, Sunday7:30 PMDubai
50Delhi Capitals vs Chennai Super Kings4 October, Monday7:30 PMDubai
52Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sunrisers Hyderabad6 October, Wednesday7:30 PMAbu Dhabi
53Chennai Super Kings vs Punjab Kings7 October, Thursday3:30 PMDubai
54Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan Royals7 October, Thursday7:30 PMSharjah
55Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Mumbai Indians8 October, Friday3:30 PMAbu Dhabi
56Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Delhi Capitals8 October, Friday7:30 PMDubai

Next Story