Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Groups unveiled for FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifiers 2024

Following the conclusion of continental championships, 16 men's and women's teams are set to compete in the FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifiers 2024, with distinct groups unveiled for each gender in locations spanning Oman, Spain, and India.

Groups unveiled for FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifiers 2024

FILE PHOTO: Indian women's hockey team players celebrate after a goal against Japan in their last Pool match at the Asian Champions Trophy on Tuesday. 


The Bridge Desk

Updated: 6 Nov 2023 12:38 PM GMT

The hockey world is abuzz with anticipation following the conclusion of the Pan American Games and the African Hockey Road to Paris 2024.

Five men's and women's teams have earned direct qualification to the highly-anticipated 2024 Paris Olympic Games as the continental champions, joining hosts France on the coveted list of contenders.

Simultaneously, 16 men's and women's teams are gearing up for the FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifiers 2024. The stage is set for an intense competition as the pools for these upcoming qualification tournaments have been unveiled.

In the spirit of the upcoming hockey showdown, the 16 qualified teams per gender have been strategically divided into two groups. Eight teams each will head to Muscat, Oman, and Valencia, Spain, for the men's competition. Likewise, the women's competition will unfold in Ranchi, India, and Valencia, Spain.

Men's groups:

The following eight teams will compete for the ultimate prize in Muscat, Oman: Great Britain, Germany, New Zealand, Malaysia, Pakistan, Canada, Chile, and China.

Over in Valencia, Spain, an equally fierce battle awaits as the following eight men's teams prepare to showcase their prowess: Belgium, Spain, Korea, Ireland, Japan, Austria, Egypt, and Ukraine.

Women's groups:

Ranchi, India, will be the stage for the women's competition, featuring eight teams - Germany, India, New Zealand, Japan, Chile, the United States, Italy, and the Czech Republic.

In Valencia, Spain, another eight women's teams will engage in captivating duels: Belgium, Great Britain, Spain, Korea, Ireland, Canada, Malaysia, and Ukraine.

The allocation of teams into these two groups was meticulously based on their world ranking at midnight on 5 November. This allocation adheres to the predetermined rules laid out in the FIH Qualification System for the Paris Olympics, which ensures a fair and balanced distribution.

For the teams fortunate enough to participate in the FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifiers 2024, the path to Olympic glory is clear. The top three teams from each of the four FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifiers 2024 tournaments will secure their coveted qualification to the Olympic Games Paris 2024.

The FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifiers 2024 are scheduled to be held from 13 to 21 January 2024.

Next Story