Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Team Europe wins the EurAsia Cup once again!

Team Europe wins the EurAsia Cup once again!

Nazrin Mather

Published: 14 Jan 2018 8:52 AM GMT
Team Europe dominated the singles matches to earn a hard-fought 14-10 victory over Team Asia and retained their title at the EurAsia Cup golf tournament held at Shah Alam, Malayasia on Sunday. The 2018 EurAsia Cup presented by DRB-HICOM was the third edition of the EurAsia Cup which is a team golf event contested between teams representing the continents of Asia and Europe. It was held from the 12th to the 14th of January at the Glenmarie Golf and Country Club in Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia. The team captains were Thomas BjA?rn and Arjun Atwal. Team Europe had won the Eurasia cup in 2016 with a score of 18 A?- 5 A?. After trailing over the last two days, Team Europe surmounted a gallant fightback to win eight out of 12 matches in the singles format at the Glenmarie Golf and Country Club. Alex Noren of Sweden delivered the day's first point for Europe with a convincing win over Malaysia's Nicholas Fung. Asia's top ranked golfer Gavin Green of Malaysia then fell victim to Spain's Rafa Cabrera Bello as the Europeans increased their lead. Tommy Fleetwood earned another point for Europe when he brought down India's S. S. P. Chawrasia before Thailand's Poom Saksansin gave Asia a brief reprieve, beating England's Paul Casey by one hole.
Major winner Henrik Stenson put another point on the board for Europe when he defeated Japan's Hideto Tanihara while Austria's Bernd Wiesberger took them three points clear with a victory over Thailand's Phachara Khongwatmai. France's Alexander Levy then brought Europe to within a point of retaining the EurAsia Cup when he defeated Thailand's Kiradech Aphibarnrat. The winning moment for Europe came on the 18th hole when Belgium's Thomas Pieters defeated Souty Korea's Byeonghun An by one hole. England's Tyrrell Hatton then beat India's Anirban Lahiri before South Korea's Sunghoon Kang and England's Matthew Fitzpatrick shared the spoils. Japan's Yuta Ikeda and China's Li Haotong salvaged some pride for Team Asia by beating England's Ross Fisher and Ireland's Paul Dunne respectively. So, Europe won the match 14 to 10. Asia had held a narrow 6A? to 5A? lead at the start of the final day's singles session but Europe won 8 of the first 9 matches and retained the trophy.
Next Story