Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


East Bengal wins Super Cup, Ends 12 year trophy draught

East Bengal defeated Odisha FC in the final of Kalinga super Cup to end 12 year trophy draught.

East Bengal wins Super Cup, Ends 12 year trophy draught

East Bengal wins Super Cup, Ends 12 year trophy draught


Aswathy Santhosh

Updated: 29 Jan 2024 7:35 AM GMT

East Bengal FC emerged victorious in the Kalinga Super Cup Final, defeating Odisha FC to end the twelve year trophy draught at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar.

The first half saw Odisha FC take the lead in the 38th minute, with Diego Mauricio capitalizing on a defensive lapse after a long ball from the Odisha defense. The halftime scoreline favored Odisha 1-0.

However, the second half brought a shift in momentum. In the 51st minute, Nandha equalized for East Bengal FC, showcasing skill and composure inside the box. East Bengal continued their offensive, leading to a penalty in the 62nd minute. Saul Crespo calmly converted, giving East Bengal a 2-1 advantage.

As the game reached the 97th minute, Odisha FC was awarded a crucial penalty. Ahmed Jahouh stepped up, leveling the score at 2-2 and forcing the match into extra time.

The additional time brought more excitement. In the 113th minute, Souvik Chakraborty received a second yellow, reducing East Bengal to 10 men. However, East Bengal quickly capitalized on a defensive error, with Cleiton Silva slotting in a goal to make it 3-1.

Odisha FC fought back with determination, as Ahmed Jahouh scored another penalty in the 117th minute, bringing the score to 3-2. The drama continued with Souvik Chakraborty receiving another yellow, resulting in both teams having 10 players.

The final whistle blew, confirming East Bengal FC as the Kalinga Super Cup champions with a 3-2 victory over Odisha FC. The match showcased outstanding individual performances, a seesaw of emotions, and a fitting end to a tournament filled with excitement.

Next Story