Sunday, May 31, 2020
To Go
  • Players Speak
  • Coach’s Corner
  • Forgotten Heroes
  • Para Sports
  • From The Grassroots
  • Sports Market
  • Videos
Home Volleyball 2019 Asian Men's Volleyball Championship: All you need to know - rules,...

2019 Asian Men’s Volleyball Championship: All you need to know – rules, format, teams


The twentieth edition of the Asian Men’s Volleyball Championship is set to kick-off another exhilarating campaign on September 13 in Tehran, the capital city of Iran. The mega volleyball event is a biennial international volleyball tournament organised by the Asian volleyball governing body, the Asian Volleyball Federation (AVC). The tournament will attract a total of eight teams who will directly earn qualification berths for the 2020 Asian Olympic Qualification Tournament. 

The federation began its first competition campaign of the year with the Asian Men’s volleyball championship in Chinese Taipei from April 18 to 26. As the draw results suggested, the host-country Chinese Taipei ended up in Pool A with Australia, Kuwait, and Singapore. While defending champions like Iran, Sri Lanka, Turkmenistan, and Indonesia were placed in Pool B, Pool C comprised Kazakhstan, Myanmar, Thailand, Qatar, and India. The latest competition will serve a pivotal role as the primary qualifying event for the Asian Senior Men’s Volleyball Championship tournament scheduled to be held from January 6-12 next year. 


According to the rules listed out by Asian Volleyball Federation, the maximum of 16 teams in all the federation based events will be selected by one team for the organiser, a total of ten teams on the basis of rankings of the previous championship, and around five teams from each of the five zones, including a qualification tournament if required at all. 

Pool A will include countries like Iran, Australia, Qatar, Sri Lanka, while countries like Japan, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong, Thailand will feature in Pool B. India is a part of Pool C, where it will be joined by Kazakhstan, China, and Oman. Pool D comprises South Korea, Indonesia, Kuwait, and Pakistan. 


The teams would be seeded in the first two positions of each pool through the Serpentine system as per their final standing of the 2017 edition. But the federation holds and advocates its right to seed the host country for the tournament as the head of Pool A, irrespective of the country’s final standing in the 2017 edition. 

For the first competition held earlier this year, Japan in Pool B was at the top with a first rank, Kazakhstan and South Korea followed suit with second and third ranks respectively. The unseeded teams included Qatar, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Oman, and Thailand. 

Among these, only the top eight teams from the Asian Men’s Championships will make the final cut for the Asian Olympic qualification tournament. 

Pool Standing

The pool standing procedure would be estimated on the basis of the following: 

  •  Number of matches won
  •  Matchpoints
  •  Sets ratio
  •  Points ratio
  •  The team which won the last match will be prioritised if the tie continues as per the point ratio between the two teams. When the tie in points ratio is between three or more teams, there will be a new classification of these teams in the terms of points 1, 2 and 3 will be made taking into account only the matches in which they were faced against each other. 
  • Match won 3–0 or 3–1: There will be three match points dedicated to the winner and zero match points for the team ending on the losing side.

Tripura man’s online chess tournament goes global

The Lockdown online International Chess Tournament, which was launched by a chess enthusiast from Tripura, has gained popularity worldwide with 29 foreign countries participating in the contest. The tournament which completed its 87th contest with participation of 2000 players from 29 countries will end...
To Go