Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Satwik-Chirag loses Malaysia Open title to China's Liang-Wang

Satwik-Chirag conceded the opening game lead to lose the Malaysia Open men's doubles title clash 21-9, 18-21, 17-21 against Liang and Wang.

Satwik-Chirag loses Malaysia Open title to Chinas Liang-Wang

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty in action during a BWF World Tour event. (Photo credit: Badminton Photo/BWF)


The Bridge Desk

Updated: 15 Jan 2024 6:28 AM GMT

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty lost the final of the Malaysia Open Super 1000 conceding an opening game lead against world no. 1 Liang Wei Keng and Wang Chang in Kuala Lumpur on Sunday.

Satwik-Chirag won the opening game 21-9. Liang-Wang, however, fought back to draw level in the second game, winning it 21-18.

In the third game, both pairings stayed close to sealing the matter, but the Chinese duo had the last laugh as they broke away from an 18-16 lead to reach match-point chances at 20-16. They would eventually claim the title by winning the game 21-17, with Liang's relentless smashing making it too hard for the Indian duo.

In the first game, Liang and Wang struggled to find a way out to counter the Indian pair's smash fest.

However, the Chinese duo, who defeated Satwik-Chirag China Masters final last year, started deploying their flat smashes in the second game that helped them gain an 11-8 lead at the interval.

After the break, they would soon break away to a 17-13 lead, but Satwik-Chirag would soon reduce the margin to 18-19.

In the end, relentless smashing by Wang landed in the deep court, splitting the Indian defence. Liang and Wang drew level in the match, winning the second game 21-18.

In the deciding third game, Satwik and Chirag gained an 11-7 at the interval, but things changed after the break as Liang and Wang drew level at 14-14 before ramping up their game to extend the lead to 19-16. Eventually, the Chinese pair won the game 21-17.

Satwik and Chirag will be in action next at the India Open Super 750.

Next Story