Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


BAI re-elects Himanta Biswa Sarma as President

Chief Minister of Assam Himanta Biswa Sarma got re-elected as the BAI President for another term after being instrumental in raising funds to develop badminton.

Himanta Biswa Sarma (Source: NDTV)

Himanta Biswa Sarma (Source: NDTV)


The Bridge Desk

Updated: 25 March 2022 2:40 PM GMT

Assam Chief Minister Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma was re-elected unopposed as the President of Badminton Association of India (BAI) for another four years term from 2022 to 2026 at the General Body Meeting held in Guwahati on Friday.

Sarma, who took over the reins of BAI in 2017, had been instrumental in raising substantial funds for the development of the game in the last four years.

He is also the Badminton Asia Vice President and a member of the Badminton World Federation Executive Council member.
Former junior national coach Sanjay Mishra would be the new General Secretary with incumbent Ajay Kumar Singhania becoming Vice President in the new Executive Council.
Maharashtra Badminton Association President Arun Lakhani will be the new treasurer.
"Badminton has been in the ascendancy in India for the last two decades and we are committed to continuing that rise by providing better facilities to players and a robust governance system," Sarma said after being re-elected.
Chief National Coach Pullela Gopichand would also make a foray into BAI administration after being elected as Vice President along with Anbumani Ramadoss and nine others.
The newly elected Executive Council will also have 11 Vice Presidents alongside eight Joint Secretaries and an equal number of committee members.
President: Himanta Biswa Sarma
Vice President: Abdul Bari Siddiqui, Ajay Kumar, Anbumani Ramadoss, Narhar Thakur, Oma Datt Sharma, Pullela Gopichand, Ratu Techi, Sekhar Chanda Biswas, S Muralidharan, Viraj Sagar Das and Watizulu Suzumeren Jamir.

Hon General Secretary: Sanjay Mishra

Hon Treasurer: Arun Hanumandas Lakhani

Joint Secretaries: Anil Krishna Rao Choughule, Konda Prabhaker Rao, KK Sharma, Mayur V Parikh, N Shyamkumar Singh, Omar Rashid, P Anakamma Choudary and Surinder Mahajan

Executive Members: BS Mankoti, Bamang Tago, H Lalnunsiama, Krishnanand Jaiswal, Nileen Kumar, Pradeep Srikrishna Gandhe, Pynbianglang Laloo, Sukanta Das, Sanjib Kumar and Ve Arunachallam
Next Story