Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Jeswin Aldrin, Ankita qualify for Paris Olympics via world rankings

Jeswin Aldrin and Ankita qualified for the Paris Olympics and will be representing India in the long jump and 5000m events respectively.

Jeswin Aldrin, Ankita qualify for Paris Olympics via world rankings

Indian long jumper Jeswin Aldrin qualified for Paris Olympics. (File Photo)


The Bridge Desk

Updated: 7 July 2024 4:50 PM GMT

Just days after the Athletics Federation of India (AFI) announced a 28-member athletics team for the 2024 Paris Olympics, Jeswin Aldrin (Long Jump) and Ankita (5000m) secured their spots in the Games through the World Athletics ranking system.

Aldrin, ranked 33rd globally, will compete in the men's long jump event, while Ankita, ranked 96th, will compete in women's 5000m along with Parul Chaudhary.

This brought the strength of the Indian athletics contingent to 30 athletes.

Aldrin's qualification came following the withdrawal of fellow long jumper Murali Sreeshankar, who had to pull out due to a knee injury sustained during a practice session.

Sreeshankar's absence left a gap in the Indian athletics team, which Aldrin has now filled, ensuring that India will be represented in the men's long jump event in Paris 2024.

Indian athletics contingent for Paris 2024


- Avinash Sable (3000m steeplechase)

- Neeraj Chopra (javelin throw)

- Kishore Kumar Jena (javelin throw)

- Tajinderpal Singh Toor (shot put)

- Praveen Chithravel (triple jump)

- Abdulla Aboobacker (triple jump)

- Sarvesh Kushare (high jump)

- Akshdeep Singh (20km race walk)

- Vikas Singh (20km race walk)

- Paramjeet Singh Bisht (20km race walk)

- Muhammed Anas (4x400m relay)

- Muhammed Ajmal (4x400m relay)

- Amoj Jacob (4x400m relay)

- Santhosh Tamilarasan (4x400m relay)

- Rajesh Ramesh (4x400m relay)

- Mijo Chacko Kurian (4x400m relay)

- Suraj Panwar (race walk mixed marathon)

- Jeswin Aldrin (long jump)


- Kiran Pahal (400m)

- Parul Chaudhary (3000m steeplechase and 5000m)

- Ankita (5000m)

- Jyothi Yarraji (100m hurdles)

- Annu Rani (javelin throw)

- Abha Khatua (shot put)

- Jyothika Sri Dandi (4x400m relay)

- Subha Venkatesan (4x400m relay)

- Vithya Ramraj (4x400m relay)

- Poovamma MR (4x400m relay)

- Prachi (4x400m relay)

- Priyanka Goswami (20km race walk/ race walk mixed marathon)

With these additions, the Indian athletics team looks poised for a strong showing at the upcoming Paris Olympics.

Next Story