Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Indian Grand Prix 2 HIGHLIGHTS - National Record for Avinash Sable, Kamalpreet wins discus throw - Updates, Results, Blog

Follow us for all the latest updates from IGP 2.

Avinash Sable broke a 30-year-old record at the Sound Running Track meet in San Juan Capistrano to set a new National Record

Avinash Sable [Source: AFI]


The Bridge Desk

Updated: 23 March 2022 1:46 PM GMT

The Indian athletics season if off to a brilliant start with the first-ever India Open Throws and Jumps competition followed by the Indian Grand Prix 1. While the long jumpers have been in the limelight for all the right reasons, others have not done too badly either.

In the spotlight today will be Olympians Avinash Sable, Tajinder Toor and Kamalpreet Kaur. How will the trio fare?

Stay tuned for all the latest updates!

Live Updates

  • 23 March 2022 1:40 PM GMT

    Thank you for joining!

    That's all we have from the Indian Grand Prix 2 in Trivandrum. Here are some of the highlights from the event:

    • Avinash Sable sets a National Record in 3000m Steeplechase clocking 8:16.21
    • Kamalpreet Kaur wins Discus Throw with a best of 61.39m
    • Tajinderpal Singh Toor did not start in Men's Shotput
    • Priya Mohan registers Personal Best of 52.37 seconds to win 400m ahead of Poovamma, Jisna and Vismaya
    • Parul Chaudhary clocks the best women's Steeplechase timing (9:38.29) since 2016 to walk away as the winner
    • Eldhose Paul registers a Personal Best of 16.95m to win Triple Jump while veteran Arpinder Singh failed to impress
    • Tokyo Olympian Noah Nirmal Tom(46.19) beaten by Rajesh Ramesh(46.09) of Tamil Nadu in Men's 400m Race B 

  • 23 March 2022 1:33 PM GMT

    Eldhose Paul wins Men's Triple Jump with a PB

    Eldhose Paul of Kerala takes the Men's Triple Jump title with a Personal Best leap of 16.95m. His state-mate Abdulla Aboobacker takes silver at 16.70m, while Tamil Nadu's Gailey Venister is third with 16.09m.

    On the other hand, the veteran Arpinder Singh had a lackluster outing with a best effort of 15.63m. 

  • 23 March 2022 1:30 PM GMT

    Kamalpreet Kaur wins Women's Discus Throw

    No surprises here as Kamalpreet Kaur wins Women's Discus Throw with a best attempt of 61.39m in her last throw. She did not have any competition as the second place went to Nidhi Rani of Haryana, who threw the best of 50.96m.

  • 23 March 2022 12:46 PM GMT

    Avinash Sable wins 3000m Steeplechase with a NR

    It's a National Record for Avinash Sable going past his own record of 8:18.12 set during the 2020 Tokyo Olympics!


  • 23 March 2022 12:34 PM GMT

    Men's 3000m Steeplechase

    The Men's 3000m Steeplechase is underway. This is the final event of the day with the national record holder and Olympian Avinash Sable in action.


  • 23 March 2022 12:33 PM GMT

    Parul Chaudhary wins Women's Steeplechase

    As expected, Parul Chaudhary has clinched the Women's 3000m Steeplechase with a timing of 9:38.29. G Maheshwari of Telangana finishes second best with 10:52.49 while Odisha's Susmita Tigga takes bronze with 11:26.45.

  • 23 March 2022 12:28 PM GMT

    Women's Discus Throw underway

    Kamalpreet Kaur in action as Women's Discus Throw has now started at the Chandrashekaran Nair stadium in Trivandrum. She starts with a throw of 56.56m.


  • 23 March 2022 12:25 PM GMT

    Tajinderpal Singh Toor did not start in Men's Shot put

    Uttarakhand takes 1-2 in Men's Shot put with Aniket and Adhish Ghildhiyal throwing a best of 17.42m and 16.48m respectively. Karnataka's Prajwal Shetty takes bronze with 14.42m.

    Interestingly Tajinderpal Singh Toor, who was last seen in action at the World Indoor Championships has a DNS against his name. 

  • 23 March 2022 12:16 PM GMT

    Women's Triple Jump

    Aishwarya B of Karnataka wins the two-women triple jump competition with a best of 13.94m while Tamil Nadu's Karthika Gothandapani comes up with a best of 13.08m.

  • 23 March 2022 12:14 PM GMT

    Men's Discus Throw

    Prashanth Malik of Haryana wins the Men's Discus Throw with a throw of a mere 54.18m. Silver for Delhi's Arjun at 51.37m and Haryana Sachin Suhag at 49.18m!

Next Story