Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Asian Games

Asian Games Cycling: Men's sprint team sets national record, loses to Japan

The men's Sprint team shattered their national record by clocking 44.609 seconds, but lost to Japan.

Asian Games Cycling: Mens sprint team sets national record, loses to Japan

Indian men's sprint team


The Bridge Desk

Updated: 26 Sep 2023 10:50 AM GMT

The Indian Men's Sprint cycling team broke their national record at the Asian Games on Tuesday. Despite their remarkable achievement, they exited the Asiad losing to formidable Japan.

The Indian squad, consisting of Yanglem Rojit Singh, Elkatohchoongo David Beckham, Laitonjam Ronald Singh, and Esow, clocked an impressive time of 44.609 seconds. However, Japan secured victory with a better time of 43.330 seconds.

The Indian Men's Sprint Team had previously tasted glory at the Junior World Championships in 2019, where they secured the gold medal with a timing of 44.625 seconds. However, since that remarkable feat, they have struggled to break the 45-second barrier.

The previous national record was also held by this dynamic group of cyclists, except M. Jemsh Singh, who was part of the previous record-setting lineup.

Despite the bitter disappointment of losing to Japan, the Indian Men's Sprint Team can take solace in their national record-breaking achievement.

Next Story