Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Women's Cricket

India clubbed with hosts South Africa in U-19 Women's World Cup

The toppers from each group will make the semi-finals, making it a vital requirement for the India U19 team to get the better of South Africa in the group stage.

India clubbed with hosts South Africa in U-19 Womens World Cup

Shafali Verma (left) will be leading the Indian U19 team at the World Cup. (BCCI)


The Bridge Desk

Updated: 14 Dec 2022 12:24 PM GMT

India have been clubbed with hosts South Africa, Scotland and UAE in group D of the inaugural under-19 Women's T20 World Cup scheduled to be held from January 14-29.

Eleven full member nations gained automatic entry, while Scotland, UAE, USA joined World Cup debutants Indonesia and Rwanda in the tournament that will witness 41 matches played across four venues in Benoni and Potchefstroom.

Group A: Australia, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and USA.

Group B: England, Pakistan, Rwanda and Zimbabwe.

Group C: New Zealand, Ireland, Indonesia and the West Indies

Group D: India, South Africa, Scotland and UAE

The toppers from each group will make the semi-finals. Both semis and final will be held at JB Marks Oval in Potchefstroom and entry to all the matches of the tournament will be "free of charge", the ICC said in a statement.

The tournament will be followed by the T20 World Cup in Cape Town, Paarl and Gqeberha beginning on February 10.

"To host one ICC event in a year is cause for great celebration, but to claim two in such quick succession is beyond our wildest dreams," tournament director Sivuyile Mqingwana said during the launch event here on Wednesday.

(With PTI inputs)

Next Story