Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Table Tennis

MYAS announces National Sports Awards 2022; Sharath Kamal gets Khel Ratna

Take a look at the athletes and coaches who have been bestowed with their respective National Sports Awards.

Sharath Kamal (Source: ITTF)

Sharath Kamal (Source: ITTF)


The Bridge Desk

Updated: 15 Nov 2022 5:25 AM GMT

Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports announced the National Sports Awards 2022 today. The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organized function at Rashtrapati Bhavan on 30th November, 2022 (Wednesday) at 4pm.

National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports. Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, Government has decided to confer awards upon the following sportspersons, coaches and entities:

(i) ​Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award 2022

'Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award' is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over the period of the previous four years.

(ii) ​Arjuna Awards for outstanding performance in Sports and Games 2022

'Arjuna Award for outstanding performance in Sports and Games' is given for good performance over a period of the previous four years and for showing qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.

Recipients: Lakshya Sen (Badminton), Nikhat Zareen (Boxing), R Praggnanandhaa (Chess), Amit Panghal (Boxing), Seema Punia (Athletics), Eldhose Paul (Athletics), Avinash Sable (Athletics), HS Prannoy (Badminton), Bhakti Kulkarni (Chess), Deep Grace Ekka (Hockey), Sushila Devi (Judo), Sakshi Kumari (Kabaddi), Nayanmoni Saika (Lawn Bowls), Sagar Ovhalkar (Mallakhamb), Elavenil Valarivan (Shooting), Om Prakash Mitharval (Shooting), Sreeja Akula (Table Tennis), Vikas Thakur (Weightlifting), Anshu Malik (Wrestling) Sarita Mor (Wrestling), Praveen (Wushu), Manasi Joshi (Para Badminton), Tarun Dhillon (Para Badminton), Swapnil Patil (Para Swimming), Jerlin Anika (Deaf Badminton)

(iii)​ Dronacharya Award for outstanding coaches in Sports and Games 2022

'Dronacharya Award for outstanding coaches in Sports and Games' is given to coaches for doing outstanding and meritorious work on a consistent basis and for enabling sportspersons to excel in International events.

A. Regular Category:

B. Lifetime Category:

(iv) ​Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime achievement in Sports and Games 2022

'Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime achievement in Sports and Games' is given to honour sportspersons who have contributed to sports by their performance and who continue to contribute to promotion of sports event after their retirement.

(v) ​Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar 2022

'Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar' is given to corporate entities (both in private and public sector), Sports Control Boards, NGOs, including sports bodies at the State and National level, who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development.

(vi) ​Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2022:

Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar (The overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy).

This year, for the first time, applications were invited only online and sportspersons/coaches/entities were permitted to self-apply through a dedicated portal. A large number of nominations were received for these awards this year, which were considered by the Selection Committee headed by Justice A. M. Khanwilkar, Retd. Judge, Supreme Court of India and consisting members from eminent sportspersons, persons having experience in sports journalism and sports administrators.

Next Story