Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Outstanding performances at National Shooting Selection Trials

Outstanding performances at National Shooting Selection Trials

Nazrin Mather

Published: 20 Jan 2018 5:45 AM GMT
Shooting is one of the most acclaimed sports the country of India has ever had. Shreya Agrawal of Madhya Pradesh gave a positive tinge of the considerable depth of Indian shooting as she swept the top positions in the women's junior and youth sections with a steadfast domination of air rifle in the National Shooting Selection Trials on the 17th of this month at the Dr. Karni Singh Range, Tughlakabad. After topping qualification with a world class total of 628.1 in a strong field of 157 women, Shreya emphasised her undisputed energy by winning three finals back to back in the evening. Already the women were shooting on par with men with 60 shots in qualification, and the three finals for Shreya were 24 shots each as she stayed in battle gear till the climax for the top honour. Shreya beat Olympian Apurvi Chandela by 0.6 point to earn the honour in the women's section in which Anjum Moudgil relented and placed a rare third, after having asserted herself in five matches in three different events earlier. Anjum who had qualified 0.3 point ahead of Olympian Ayonika Paul and Sonali Badwe, in the eighth spot with a total of 623.6, missed a better placing eventually by 0.2 point. Shreya defeated Bhargavi D Kasar to the top spot in both the junior and youth sections, with margins of 0.6 and 0.4 point respectively. National women's champion Elavenil Valarivan settled for the third place in the junior section.
Source: Gun for Glory Coming to the men's category, in the men's rifle prone event, World Champion and Olympic medallist, Gagan Narang was consistently strong through the six series to top the event with a total of 624.3. Ajeet Kumar Singh and Nigam Prasad Parida took the second and third places ahead of Olympians, Chian Singh and Sanjeev Rajput, while Akhil Sheoran was placed in the sixth position. In standard pistol, Arpit Goel topped with 581, five points ahead of Wazeer Singh Rathee and Anish Bhanwala. The results as tabulated : Men: 50m rifle prone: 1. Gagan Narang 624.3; 2. Ajeeet Kumar Singh 623.4; 3. Nigam Prasad Parida 623.3.
Junior men:
1. Harshit Binjwa 620.0; 2. Pruthviraj Ayachi 618.9; 3. Abid Ali Khan 618.6. 25m standard pistol: 1. Arpit Goel 581; 2. Wazeer Singh Rathee 576; 3. Anish Bhanwala 575. Junior men: 1. Anish Bhanwala 575; 2. Vijayveer Sidhu 565; 3. Mandeep Singh 565. Women: 10m air rifle: 1. Shreya Agrawal 250.8 (628.1); 2. Apurvi Chandela 249.4 (625.0); 3. Anjum Moudgil 229.0 (623.6). Junior women: 1. Shreya Agrawal 248.9 (628.1); 2. Bhargavi D Kasar 248.3 (625.5); 3. Elavenil Valarivan 227.1 (622.5). Youth women: 1. Shreya Agrawal 250.2 (628.1); 2. Bhargavi D Kasar 249.8 (625.5); 3. Manini Kaushik 225.0 (620.5).
Next Story