Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


NRAI to conduct Olympic shooting trials in April and May

The Olympics trials will see the quota winners fighting against the other top-ranked shooters in the country.

NRAI to conduct Olympic shooting trials in April and May

The trio of Rudrankksh Patil, Divyansh Panwar Aishwary Tomar created new world record to clinch first gold medal of Asian Games 2023 (Source: IOA)


The Bridge Desk

Updated: 27 March 2024 4:30 AM GMT

The National Rifle Association of India (NRAI) on Tuesday released a list of the pistol and rifle shooters who will compete in the Olympic trials.

The trials will take place in New Delhi and Bhopal and the Olympic quota winners will compete against other top-ranked shooters in the country,

There will be a series of four trials but the scores of top-three will be considered. The first two phases will be held at the Dr Karni Singh Shooting Ranges in New Delhi from April 18-27.

The third and fourth phases of the trials will be held at the MP Shooting Academy from May 10-19.

The list, however, does not mention shooters in the air pistol women category.

"It will be notified immediately after the conduct of the ISSF Final Olympic Qualification Championship at Rio, Brazil," NRAI said.

Air pistol and air rifle shooters who have secured Olympic quota places will get one bonus point. But in the case of 50m rifle and 25m pistol events, two bonus points will get added to the scores of the Olympic quota winners.

India has so far secured a record 19 Olympic quotas in shooting.

The List of shooters for the Olympic Shooting Trials:

10m air pistol men: Sarabjot Singh, Arjun Singh Cheema, Varun Tomar, Naveen and Ravinder Singh.

10m air rifle men: Divyansh Singh Panwar, Arjun Babuta, Rudrankksh Patil, Karthik Sabari Raj and Sandeep Singh; women: Mehuli Ghosh, Ramita, Tilottama Sen, Elavenil Valarivan and Nancy. rapid-fire fire men: Vijayveer Sidhu, Anish, Adarsh Singh, Bhavesh Shekhawat, and Ankur Goel.

25m sports pistol women: Rhythm Sangwan, Esha Singh, Manu Bhaker, Abhindya Patil, and Simranpreet Kaur Brar.

50m Rifle 3P men: Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar, Swapnil Kusale, Akhil Sheoran, Chain Singh, and Niraj Kumar; women: Sift Kaur Samra, Ashi Chouksey, Shriyanka Sadangi, Nischal, and Anjum Moudgil.

Next Story