Gold 0
silver 1
Bronze 1
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Pratima - Pramila: India’s only female duo to win a rowing medal in Asian Games

Pratima - Pramila: India’s only female duo to win a rowing medal in Asian Games

Abhijit Nair

Published: 26 Oct 2020 10:25 AM GMT

Rowing has always remained an underappreciated sport, especially in India. The rowers don’t really enjoy the popularity that other sportspersons in the country enjoy. This is in spite of fact that India has had quite some success in the sport. From Bajrang Lal Takhar to Dattu Bhokanal India has produced some very talented rowers, amongst them are Pratima Puhan and Pramila Prava Minz.

Pratima Puhan and Pramila Prava Minz India's bronze medallists Pratima Puhan (L) and Pramila Prava during the medal ceremony for the women's pair rowing event of the 16th Asian Games at International rowing center in Guangzhou, China.

Both, Pratima and Pramila belong to the state of Odisha. They shot to fame during the 2010 Asian Games at Guangzhou when they became the first Indian women to win a medal for rowing. Pratima and Pramila combined to clinch the bronze medal with a timing of 7 minutes 45.50 seconds in the 2,000m coxless pair event.

The Indian pair was placed third with a timing of 3 minutes and 51.40 seconds at the halfway mark and then held on to their lead to finish with a bronze medal.

Pratima Puhan and Pramila Prava Minz Orissa rowers Pratima Puhan (R) and Pramila Prava Minz with Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik in Bhubaneswar in November 2010

While Pratima came from the Cuttack district, Pramila belongs to Sundargarh. Both the rowers joined forces when they ended up together at the Sports Authority of India (SAI) Water Sports Centre at Jagatpur, Cuttack. They developed their skills under the watchful eyes of Jose Jacob and Paulose PT at the SAI sports centre. The duo has proved to be a potent pair with oars in their hand and have went to win numerous medals at various national and international levels.

Both, Pratima and Pramila were directly appointed as the Sub-Inspector of Police by the Odisha government in 2015. They were handed the appointment letter by the Chief Minister, Naveen Patnaik, at the Kalinga Stadium.

Next Story