Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


INRC 2019: Chetan Shivram wins Round Two of National Rally Championship

The FMSCI Indian National Rally Championship (INRC) 2019 witnessed some unprecedented action during the Rally of Coimbatore, even as Chetan Shivram won the second round of the national rally championship.

INRC 2019: Chetan Shivram wins Round Two of National Rally Championship

Press Releases

Published: 12 Aug 2019 8:34 AM GMT
Team Akshara’s Chetan Shivram took a handy lead to emerge triumphant in the Rally of Coimbatore, Round 2 of the Champions Yacht Club FMSCI Indian National Rally Championship 2019, on an action-packed Sunday. Going into the second and final day with a mere four-second lead over Suhem Kabeer (Privateer) and a 19-lead over Younus Ilyas (Race Concepts), Chetan Shivram (with brother Dilip Sharan by his side) showed nerves of steel to win the overall INRC title as well as his INRC 3 category. He enjoyed a bit of luck as his main challenger, Suhem (with Jeeva Rathnam), got stuck in slush in the day’s first stage itself. Suhem lost 6 minutes to slip out of the main reckoning though he could hold on to the third place in INRC 2 class. https://www.facebook.com/thefmsci/posts/1314232122066963 Chetan, however, couldn’t breathe easy as another Suhem’s JK Tyre teammate, Younus, was hot on his heels. Younus kept pace with Chetan in all three stages of Day 2, even winning a couple. In the end, though, Younus had to settle for the second place on the INRC podium, falling just 04.600 seconds short. It was good enough for Younus (& Harish Gowda) to take the top prize in INRC 2. Team Champions’ Dean Mascarenhas (Shruptha Padival) showed typical grit to claw up to the tenth place, climbing 32 places after a stroke of misfortune on Day 1 had condemned him to the bottom of the table. He was the standout driver on Day 2, even taking the second position in INRC 2. Indian National Rally Championship
Chetan Shivram and Dilip Sharan Team Champions’ Fabid Ahmer (with Sanath G) was equally impressive, matching the leaders in every stage to rise from his overnight fifth place. He clinched the overall third place and positioned himself in the second in INRC 3 for a remarkable double. “We went flat-out in the first stage today as the gap between us and Fabid was really narrow. So we decided to try and increase the gap first and then play safe,” an elated Chetan remarked. “Suhem lost a lot of time in that stage, making it just a little easy for us," he added. In INRC 4, Vaibhav Marate (and Arjun SSB) maintained their winning streak, scoring a fairly easy win for the second consecutive time. https://www.facebook.com/thefmsci/posts/1314242062065969 Full Results:
INRC Overall
1) Chetan Shivram & Dilip Sharan – 1:33:51.700hr; 2) Younus Ilyas & Harish Gowda – 1:33:56.300 hr; 3) Fabid Ahmer & Sanath G. – 1:34:54.400 hr INRC 2 1) Younus Ilyas & Harish Gowda – 1:33:56.300; 2) Dean Mascarenhas & Shruptha Padival – 1:28:33.800 hr; 3) Suhem Kabeer & Jeeva Rathinam – 1:40:17.000hr INRC 3 1) Chetan Shivram & Dilip Sharan – 1:33:51.700hr; 2) Fabid Ahmer & Sanath G. – 1:34:54.400 hr; 3) Aditya Thakur & Virender Kashyap – 1:35:57.700 hr INRC 4 1) Vaibhav Marate & Arjun SSB – 1:38:27.000hr; 2) Manoj Mohanan & Francis Sachin – 1:39:36.300 hr; 3)Rakshith Iyer & Chandrashekar – 1:40:17.000 FMSCI /SUV Challenge 1)Lokesh Gowda & Sudhindra B.G; 2) Gagan Karumbaiah & Thimmu Udapanda; 3) Sanjay Agarwal & Smitha N Also read: Dean, Gaurav start favourites in Round 2 of Indian National Rally Championship
Next Story