Thursday, June 4, 2020
To Go
  • Players Speak
  • Coach’s Corner
  • Forgotten Heroes
  • Para Sports
  • From The Grassroots
  • Sports Market
  • Videos
Home Marathon Tata Mumbai Marathon: Sudha Singh, Nitendra Rawat make the cut for IAAF...

Tata Mumbai Marathon: Sudha Singh, Nitendra Rawat make the cut for IAAF World Championships


The 16th edition of the Tata Mumbai Marathon, India’s IAAF Gold Label race is on at the city today and the Indian elite runners who are participating already have every occasion to be cheerful about.

A qualification at the IAAF World Championships, Doha was in the cards and the qualification mark for the women’s category was set at 2:37:00. India’s Sudha Singh not only registered a personal best but also set a course record with a timing of 2:34:56 to make the cut for the World Championships

Sudha Singh has earned various laurels in running including a Silver in the 3000m steeplechase at Asian Games 2018. She also bagged the 2nd place amongst the Indian Women with the timing of 1:29:11 at the Tata Steel Kolkata 25K in 2018.

On January 18, news emerged that Indian runner Nitendra Singh Rawat was included in the line up for the London Marathon. Among the Indian men today, he finished first out of 14 participating Indians with a timing of 2:15:52. India’s Gopi T finished as the second Indian in the fray with a timing of 2:17:03. Rawat also sealed a berth at the IAAF World Championships in Doha whose qualifying time was set at 2:16:00 while Gopi T just missed out.

Before this race, Gopi T was the defending champion with a timing of 2:16:51 while Nitendra Singh Rawat held the course record at 2:15:48.

Overall, it seems to be a good day for the Indian elite participants.



BWF World Junior Championships rescheduled to January next year

New Zealand Badminton
The Badminton World Junior Championships to be held in Auckland in September was on Friday rescheduled to January next year because of a disruption-hit international calendar owing to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Badminton World Federation (BWF) confirmed that the World Junior Championships will now...
To Go