Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

What's Latest

Results from Day 6 of 8th Hockey India Sub Junior Men National Championship 2018 (A Division)

Results from Day 6 of 8th Hockey India Sub Junior Men National Championship 2018 (A Division)

Press Release

Published: 22 Jan 2018 3:07 PM GMT
Saifai (Uttar Pradesh), 22 January 2018: Action in the 8th Hockey India Sub Junior Men National Championship 2018 (A Division) continued here today into its sixth day which saw Hockey Karnataka, Hockey Chandigarh, Sports Authority of India, Hockey Haryana, Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy and Hockey Punjab, all registering victories in their respective Pool matches. In Pool A, it was Sports Authority of India that swept off Hockey Maharashtra with a scoreline of 10-1 to nail a convincing victory. The goals came thick and fast for Sports Authority of India as they scored six goals in the first half to put themselves ahead. Sports Authority of India scored four more goals in the second half to win the game 10-1. Sachin Kolekar converted a Penalty Corner in the 52nd minute for Hockey Maharashtra to remain the only goal scorer for his side. Goals for Sports Authority of India came through Arun Sahani (13', 18', 24'), Ranjan Toppo (14', 57', 67'), Joseph Kongari (15'), Anurud Bhengra (32') and Deepak Minz (39').
In another Pool A match, it was Hockey Karnataka that defeated Delhi Hockey with a scoreline of 6-4. It was an exciting game as both the sides looked to attack each other from the opening minute which saw Hockey Karnataka take a lead of 3-2 at the half-time break. Sandeep Toppo from Hockey Karnataka scored in the 39th minute to put his team in a comfortable position as they extended their lead to 4-2. Hockey Delhi made a brilliant come back through Pravesh and Saurab who scored two back to back goals in the 41st and 47th minutes respectively to equalize the scores at 4-4. However, Hockey Karnataka stepped up their game to score two more goals in the closing stages of the match to wrap up a 6-4 win. Goals for Hockey Karnataka were scored by Vimal Kumar (3', 58'), Ganesh Majji (16'), Y Karthik Kumar (26') and Vashudev (70') while Cyril Lugun (9') and Harsha Kamal Teja Kolli (32') also scored for Delhi Hockey.
In a Pool B match, Hockey Chandigarh beat Hockey Unit Of Tamil Nadu 12-0. Hockey Chandigarh scored three goals in the first half to stamp their authority on the match. The second half also saw a similar story as Hockey Chandigarh scored nine more goals to snatch a comfortable victory. Goals for Hockey Chandigarh came through their skipper Amandeep (17', 24', 39', 52', 65', 68'), Harpreet Singh (48', 69', 70'), Amritpal Singh (34', 41') and Harpanthpreet Singh (37').
In another Pool B match, Hockey Haryana defeated Hockey Andhra Pradesh with a convincing scoreline of 13-0. Hockey Haryana scored a total of six goals in the first half which saw them dictate the rhythm in the match. The victors then added another seven goals to their tally to wrap up a comfortable win as their opponents looked out of touch. Goals for Hockey Haryana were scored by Deepak (6', 10', 42', 47'), Ankush (14', 65', 69'), Pankaj (23', 43', 52'), Tanuj Saroha (15'), Pankaj (28') and Yogesh Singh (62'). In a Pool C match, Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy triumphed over Namdhari XI with a scoreline of 4-1. It was Namdhari XI's first loss of the competition after they had won their first three consecutive matches. The match saw Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy score the first goal in the 8th minute but Namdhari XI struck back in the 21st minute to level the scores at 1-1. However, Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy kept attacking and took a 2-1 lead into half-time as they scored in the 33rd minute. The second half saw Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy score two more goals to wrap up a much-needed 4-1 win. Goals for Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy were scored by skipper Shreyas Dhupe (8'), Himanshu Malik (33'), Amarjit Hemam (53') and Haider Ali (58') while Akashdeep Singh was the only goal-scorer for Namdhari XI as he scored in the 21st minute. In another Pool C match, Hockey Punjab outclassed Chhattisgarh Hockey with an impressive scoreline of 13-0. Six first-half goals for Hockey Punjab did the damage as they looked comfortable in possession and kept attacking Chhattisgarh Hockey. The second half also saw Hockey Punjab display attacking brand of hockey to score seven more goals, which mean that they won the match 13-0. Goals for Hockey Punjab were scored by Sarbjot Singh (16', 49',62', 70), Simranjot Singh (27', 33', 55', 66'), Jarman Singh (14', 60'), Bharat Thakur (29'), skipper Ranjodh Singh (32') and Prabhsimran Jeet (57').
Next Story