Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Hockey Senior Men National C'ship set to feature national team stars

The 13th Senior Men National Hockey Championship will feature the likes of Harmanpreet Singh, Dilpreet Singh and Karthi Selvam.

Hockey Senior Men National Cship set to feature national team stars

India will play the 9th-16th classification match on Thursday. (HI)


The Bridge Desk

Updated: 16 Nov 2023 7:43 AM GMT

Indian hockey stars will descend in Chennai as the 13th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship will kick off on 17th November.

The tournament will see twenty-nine teams, divided into eight pools, vying to make it to the Final on 28th November. Notably, the National Championship will be held at the same venue that saw the Indian Men’s Hockey Team clinch the Hero Asian Champions Trophy Chennai 2023 earlier this year.

The tournament will feature Indian national team regulars such as Harmanpreet Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Shamsher Singh, Sukhjeet Singh, Simranjeet Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Krishan B Pathak, Jarmanpreet Singh, Jugraj Singh, Gurinder Singh will represent Hockey Punjab.

Meanwhile, the Hockey Association of Odisha will be represented by Amit Rohidas, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Dipsan Tirkey, and Shilanand Lakra. Uttar Pradesh Hockey will register the services of Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Rajkumar Pal, Pawan Rajbhar, and Prashant Kumar Chauhan.

“I am excited to go back to Chennai and play hockey. The overwhelming support we received during the Hero Asian Champions Trophy Chennai 2023 helped us perform better, so I hope the residents of Chennai turn up in droves again. The Senior Men National Championship is a good opportunity for players on the precipice of the Indian Team to rub shoulders with players from the current team and raise the overall level of hockey. I am looking forward to a great tournament,” the Indian Men’s Hockey Team Captain Harmanpreet Singh shared his thoughts before the tournament.

Hockey Haryana will look to defend its title with Sumit, Sanjay, Abhishek, Mandeep Mor, Pawan Malik, Yashdeep Siwach, and Manjeet while Vivek Sagar Prasad will take the field for Hockey Madhya Pradesh.

Nilakanta Sharma will play for Manipur Hockey, Mohd Raheel Mouseen will represent Hockey Karnataka, Suraj Karkera will feature for Hockey Maharashtra, Maninder Singh will represent Hockey Chandigarh while local boy S. Karthi will lead the line for last year’s runners-up, Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu.

Pool A will consist of defending Champions Hockey Haryana, Chhattisgarh Hockey, and Hockey Gujrat. Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu, Hockey Himachal, and Assam Hockey are placed in Pool B. Pool C will feature Hockey Karnataka, Hockey Bihar, Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu Hockey. Pool D comprises Hockey Maharashtra, Hockey Punjab, Hockey Uttarakhand, and Tripura Hockey.

Hockey Bengal, Hockey Madhya Pradesh, Hockey Jammu & Kashmir, and Manipur Hockey will battle it out in Pool E. Pool F will see Hockey Jharkhand go up against Hockey Chandigarh, Hockey Andhra Pradesh, and Goans Hockey. Pool G is made up of Uttar Pradesh Hockey, Le Puducherry Hockey, Kerala Hockey, and Hockey Rajasthan. Meanwhile, Pool H will feature Delhi Hockey, the Hockey Association of Odisha, Telangana Hockey, and Hockey Arunachal.

The table topper from each pool will qualify for the Quarter-Finals, the victors of which will advance to the Semi-Finals, scheduled for 27th November. The winners of the Semi-Finals will go toe to toe in the Final on 28th November.

Next Story