Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Hockey India announces squad for the Women's Asian Champions Trophy 2021

Goalkeeper Savita will captain the team in the absence of Rani Rampal, along with Grace Ekka as vice-captain

Indian squad for the Womens Asian Champion Trophy 2021

Indian squad for the Women's Asian Champion Trophy 2021


The Bridge Desk

Updated: 2021-11-19T21:06:43+05:30

Hockey India on Friday named the 18-member Indian Women's Hockey Team for the upcoming Donghae Women's Asian Champions Trophy which is scheduled to be held between 5 - 12 December 2021.

India begins their campaign on an opening day and will battle it out against China, Korea, Japan, Thailand and Malaysia in the single-pool tournament for top honours.

The Indian team will see Savita, who was named the FIH Goalkeeper of the Year, Captain the side along with experienced defender Deep Grace Ekka who will be her deputy.

The team includes goalkeeper Rajani Etimarpu and defenders Udita, Nikki Pradhan, Gurjit Kaur, who were all part of the Tokyo Olympics squad.

The midfield includes Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam, Nisha, Monika, Neha, Jyoti who played for India in their historic fourth-place finish at the Tokyo Olympics. Namita Toppo who was the alternate player at the Tokyo Olympics as well as her state-mate from Odisha Lilima Minz is also part of the team.

The forward line will see two-time Olympian Vandana Katariya lead the charge with Navneet Kaur who was part of the Tokyo Olympic squad. Forwards Rajwinder Kaur, Mariana Kujur and Sonika too have been named to the team.

Navjot Kaur and youngster Suman Devi Thoudam have been chosen as alternate players (Ap) who will be permitted to play only if there is an injury or someone in the 18-member squad is ruled out of the tournament due to Covid-19.

Speaking about the team composition, Chief Coach for Indian Women's Hockey Team Janneke Schopman said, "Despite some unfortunate injuries and Senior players joining the Junior team for the Junior World Cup in South Africa, I feel we have selected a good team for the upcoming Women's Asian Champions Trophy. This tournament will be a good opportunity for some young new players to get a taste of the highest international level and I'm excited to see if we can implement our training themes consistently."

"I'm sure that expectations are high after our success at the Tokyo Olympics but we all start at zero again. I am confident that we can show our abilities and will be looking for our team to play consistently at a high pace," Schopman added.

While India will play their opening match against Thailand on 5 December, they play Malaysia on 6 December and host and defend Champions Korea in their third match on 8 December. India plays China on 9 December and Japan on 11 December. The Final will take place on 12 December between the topper of the pool and the team that finished second in the pool.

In the previous edition held in 2018, India finished runners-up behind Korea.

Indian Women's Team:


1. Savita (C)

2. Rajani Etimarpu


3. Deep Grace Ekka (VC)

4. Udita

5. Nikki Pradhan

6. Gurjit Kaur


7. Nisha

8. Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam

9. Namita Toppo

10. Monika

11. Neha

12. Jyoti

13. Lilima Minz


14. Navneet Kaur

15. Vandana Katariya

16. Rajwinder Kaur

17. Mariana Kujur

18. Sonika

Next Story