Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Hockey India names 18-member Indian Women's Hockey Team for Spain Tour

Hockey India names 18-member Indian Womens Hockey Team for Spain Tour

Press Release

Published: 18 Jan 2019 8:48 AM GMT
Hockey India today named the 18-member Indian Women's Hockey Team for the season opener in Spain starting 26 January where the team led by Rani Rampal and Vice-Captained by Savita will play four matches with Spain National Team and two matches against the 2018 Women's World Cup runners-up Ireland.
The team includes goalkeepers Savita and Rajani Etimarpu. The Indian team for Spain Tour will feature defender Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam who makes a comeback after missing out on the 2018 Women's World Cup and the 18th Asian Games Jakarta-Palembang last year due to injury. Defender Salima Tete, who led the India U-18 team to a Silver medal at the Youth Olympic Games in Buenos Aires, has also been named in the team along with experienced Deep Grace Ekka, Reena Khokhar, Nikki Pradhan and drag-flicker Gurjit Kaur who will add strength to India's defence.
While midfield features Lilima Minz, Karishma Yadav, Sonika and Neha Goyal, the forward-line will have the experience of Rani, Vandana Katariya, Navneet Kaur, Lalremsiami, Udita and Navjot Kaur.
"The team has a different mix of players this time with some of the key players like Sunita Lakra, Namita Toppo among few other experienced players being rested. The idea was to give more players a chance to experience playing at a top level so we can create more depth in our selection ahead of the Olympic Qualifiers," stated Chief Coach Sjoerd Marijne about the team selection.
The Indian team will leave on 24 Jan for the Spain Tour from Bengaluru where they have been based for the past two weeks for the National Camp.
Indian Team:
1.     Savita  (Vice Captain)
2.     Rajani Etimarpu
3.     Reena Khokhar
4.     Deep Grace Ekka
5.     Salima Tete
6.     Nikki Pradhan
7.     Gurjit Kaur
8.     Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam
9.     Lilima Minz
10.   Karishma Yadav
11.   Sonika
12.   Neha Goyal
13.   Rani   (Captain)
14.   Vandana Katariya
15.   Navneet Kaur
16.   Lalremsiami
17.   Udita
18.   Navjot Kaur
Next Story