Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Indian junior men's hockey team announced for the Sultan of Johor Cup

Uttam Singh has been named captain, while Rajinder Singh will serve as vice captain of the 20-member squad.

Indian junior mens hockey team announced for the Sultan of Johor Cup

Bikash Chand Katoch

Updated: 9 Oct 2023 9:39 AM GMT

Hockey India announces the 20-member Indian Junior Men’s Hockey Team that will participate in the 11th Sultan of Johor Cup 2023 from 27th October to 4th November in Johor, Malaysia. The 11th Sultan of Johor Cup 2023 will feature 8 teams this time around instead of the customary 6 teams that it featured in previous editions.

India have been placed in Pool B along with Malaysia, Pakistan, and New Zealand, while Pool A will consist of Germany, Australia, South Africa, and Great Britain. Captain Uttam Singh will be assisted by Vice Captain Rajinder Singh in his endeavour to lead India to a top 2 finish in Pool B and ensure qualification for the Semi-Finals.

Speaking about the upcoming tournament, Indian Men’s Junior Hockey Team Coach CR Kumar said, “The selection committee has taken all previous tournaments into consideration to come up with a well-balanced team to compete and succeed in the 11th Sultan of Johor Cup 2023. We are looking to encourage and give an opportunity to players who have the skills to outperform the opponent, to play penetrative passes between lines. The tournament is also an opportunity to assess and understand six nations that will be heading to the FIH Hockey Men’s Junior World Cup 2023 and it’s being played under the same climate conditions that we can expect at Kuala Lumpur in December.”

The goalkeeping department will be entrusted to the reliable duo of Mohith H S and Ranvijay Singh Yadav, while the defenders travelling to Johor are Amandeep Lakra, Rohit, Sunil Jojo, Sukhvinder, Amir Ali, and Yogember Rawat.

Meanwhile, the midfield will witness the presence of dynamic players like Poovanna C B, Vishnukant Singh, Rajinder Singh, Amandeep, Sunit Lakra, and Abdul Ahad. In the forward department, the team consists of Uttam Singh, Arun Sahani, Aditya Lalage, Angad Bir Singh, Gurjot Singh, and Sathish B.

Captain Uttam Singh highlighted his intention for the 11th Sultan of Johor Cup 2023, saying, “The whole team has been training hard and the guys who weren’t in the squad last time around have also stepped up their performances, raising the overall level of the team. The 11th Sultan of Johor Cup 2023 is an important tournament in the lead-up to the FIH Hockey Men's Junior World Cup 2023 and we are eager to defend our title.”

Indian Junior Men’s Hockey Team:


Mohith H S

Ranvijay Singh Yadav


Amandeep Lakra


Sunil Jojo


Amir Ali

Yogember Rawat


Vishnukant Singh

Poovanna C B

Rajinder Singh


Sunit Lakra

Abdul Ahad


Uttam Singh

Arun Sahani

Aditya Lalage

Angad Bir Singh

Gurjot Singh

Sathish B

Next Story