Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Hockey India names 18-member Indian Junior Men's Team for Sultan of Johor Cup 2018

Hockey India names 18-member Indian Junior Mens Team for Sultan of Johor Cup 2018

Press Release

Published: 19 Sep 2018 8:26 AM GMT

Hockey India on Wednesday named an 18-member Indian Junior Men’s Hockey team for the upcoming 8th Sultan of Johor Cup 2018 to be held from 6th - 13th October 2018 in Johor Bahru, Malaysia. The Indian team is scheduled to play a total of five round-robin matches against Malaysia, New Zealand, Japan, Australia and Great Britain. The top two teams at the end of the round-robin matches will face each other in the Final on 13th October 2018 whereas the remaining four teams will play classification matches.

The 18-member team will be Captained by Mandeep Mor, while Shilanand Lakra will shoulder the duties of Vice-Captain. The team includes goalkeepers Kamalbir Singh and Pankaj Kumar Rajak, defenders Suman Beck, Mohd Faraz, Somjeet, Mandeep Mor, Prince and Varinder Singh; while the midfield will be commanded by Yashdeep Siwach, Harmanjit Singh, Vishnu Kant Singh, Gopi Kumar Sonkar, Vishal Antil and Haspreet Singh. The forward line will feature Gursahabjit Singh, Abhishek, Prabhjot Singh and Shilanand Lakra.

“We have selected the team for the 8th Sultan of Johor Cup 2018 keeping in mind the exposure that these young players will be getting at the tournament. We will be up against some of the best teams in the youth category, and we believe that this set of players can challenge the other teams for the title in Johor Bahru. Coach Jude Felix has tried different combinations during our tour of Belgium earlier this year and during the National Camp in Bengaluru, and these 18 players have shown great ability and desire to succeed. It will be a crucial tournament for some of the athletes as this will be their first major assignment with the Indian Junior team, but I am sure that it will be a learning curve to remember for all the players which shall help in their development,” stated David John, Director, High Performance, Hockey India.

The Indian team will play their opening match against hosts Malaysia on 6th October 2018 at 18.05hrs IST.

Junior Men’s Team:

Goalkeepers: Kamalbir Singh, Pankaj Kumar Rajak

Defenders: Suman Beck, Mohd. Faraz, Somjeet, Mandeep Mor (Captain), Prince, Varinder Singh

Midfielders: Yashdeep Siwach, Harmanjit Singh, Vishnu Kant Singh, Gopi Kumar Sonkar, Vishal Antil, Haspreet Singh

Forwards: Gursahabjit Singh, Abhishek, Prabhjot Singh, Shilanand Lakra (Vice-Captain)

Next Story