Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Clash of the Titans: Dhanraj Pillay XI v/s. Dilip Tirkey XI

Clash of the Titans: Dhanraj Pillay XI v/s. Dilip Tirkey XI

Press Release

Published: 4 Oct 2018 5:26 AM GMT
Live Streaming on FB @heartbeatsforhockey  & YouTube @HeartBeatsForHockey In a first-ever milestone event in Indian Hockey, legends Dhanraj Pillay and Dilip Tirkey will take centrestage for the Odisha Exhibtion Match, which is the highlight of the Kalinga Stadium Inauguration on 10th October 2018. Pillay and Tirkey will lead their respective teams comprising a mix of hockey legends of the past and the Indian National Team. Familiar faces include PR Sreejesh, Manpreet Singh, Harmanpreet Singh as also Sardar Singh, Viren Rasquinha, Deepak Thakur among others. The match will showcase the newly-refurbished Kalinga Stadium that plays host to the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018 beginning November 28
. It will also allow Team India a taste of the biggest tournament in men’s hockey – the HWC 2018 – even as it promises to regale hockey fans nation-wide. Nupur Mahajan, creator of the HeartBeats for Hockey Campaign and the brain behind the Odisha Exhibition Match said, “This match is a tribute to Odisha’s love for hockey. What better way of opening the Kalinga Stadium gates and ushering in the World Cup than having the sons of Indian hockey take to the turf by way of a match that sees the Best of India versus the Best of India! It will be a hockey moment when youth and experience combine at the Kalinga Stadium on October 10th. Dhanraj Pillay and Dilip Tirkey are both true legends and the match is set to be the same.”
Speaking on the Odisha Exhibition Match, Dhanraj Pillay said,
“Odisha Government is breathing new life into hockey and I thank them for such initiatives. This is a landmark event in Indian Hockey; an exhibition match with legends of the game and Team India. I do hope that we are able to entertain the capacity crowd that will be at the Kalinga Stadium along with every Hockey fan sitting at home and watching us.” Commenting on the upcoming clash, Dilip Tirkey said, “There is no better way to portray the glory of Odisha and Kalinga Stadium than getting the past and present of hockey together by the way of this iconic match. I am really excited about the face off against Dhanraj and team, and my team and I look forward to giving the fans a good game.”
Speaking on the Stadium Inauguration,
Vishal Dev, Commissioner–cum-Secretary, Department of Sports and Youth Services said, “With an aim to provide best of the sports infrastructures, the Odisha state government remodelled Kalinga stadium into an international sports complex providing facilities for all kinds of sports and games. Both, the practice and main pitches have been re-laid with a new blue turf as per the FIH specification. The stadium capacity has also been increased from 8500 to 15000, whilst adding two new galleries in the north and south ends of the Stadium.”
  Harendra Singh Chris Ciriello
1. Dhanraj Pillay (Captain) Dilip Tirkey (Captain)
2. PR Sreejesh (Gk) Krishan Bahadur Pathak (Gk)
3. Viren Rasquinha Ignance Tirkey
4. Sardar Singh Vr Raghunath
5. Prabhjyot Singh Deepak Thakur
6. Sandeep Singh Manpreet Singh
7. Varun Kumar Dipsan Tirkey
8. Harmanpreet Singh Rupinder Pal Singh
9. Gurinder Singh Suraj Karkera
10. Kothajit Singh Nilam Sanjeep Xess
11. Jarmanpreet Singh Surender Kumar
12. Chinglensana Singh Kangujam Amit Rohidas
13. Simranjeet Singh Sumit
14. Hardik Singh Nilakanta Sharma
15. S V Sunil Lalit Kumar Upadhyay
16. Gurjant Singh Akashdeep Singh
17. Dilpreet Singh Mandeep Singh
18. Pradeep Singh Sumit Kumar
Next Story