Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


West Bengal announce 20-member squad for Santosh Trophy Final rounds

West Bengal announce 20-member squad for Santosh Trophy Final rounds

Sounak Mullick

Published: 18 March 2018 8:28 AM GMT
Hosts West Bengal announced their 20-member squad for the final rounds of the Santosh Trophy which is scheduled to begin on Monday at the Rabindra Sarovar Stadium. The defending champions have been drawn alongside Chandigarh, Manipur, Maharashtra and Kerala. Mohammedan Sporting Club's Jiten Murmu was declared as the captain of the team. The 32-time champions will begin their campaign against Manipur tomorrow. West Bengal had the better of Chhattisgarh (2-0) and Jharkhand (2-0) in the Group 'B' qualifiers to seal a berth in the final stages of the competition. Coach Ranjan Chowdhury is worried about the form of his players and has complained about lack of preparation time. Several players were absent owing their participation in the for the Railways in an Inter-Railway tournament, while the Mohammedan Sporting Club players were busy taking part in the Steel Express Football Tournament in Chakradharpur.
Also read:
Santosh Trophy should be given importance, says Indian captain Sunil Chhetri Top two teams from each of the 5 groups in the preliminary stages qualified for the main rounds of the annual meet. The top 10 teams were divided into two groups each and will play each other in a round-robin format. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals which are scheduled to be played on March 30. The final will be played on April 1. In the other group, Goa, Mizoram, Odisha, Punjab and Karnataka will play against each other for a semi-final berth. Bengal squad: Goalkeepers: Ranojit Majumdar, Laltu Mondal, Sandip Paul; Defenders: Tanmoy Ghosh, Ankit Mukherjee, Krishna Biswas, Manotosh Chakladar, Prosenjit Paul, Sourav Dasgupta Nabi Hossain Khan; Midfielders: Bidyasagar Singh, Sumit Das, Sujoy Dutta, Tirthankar Sarkar, Babun Das, Sanchayan Samaddar, Jagannath Oraon; Forwards: Rajon Barman, Jiten Murmu (captain), Sandip Bhttacharya. In the last edition, West Bengal scored a goal in the 119th minute of the final match via a Manvir Singh strike to clinch their 32nd title. Time will tell if the most successful team of the Santosh Trophy script yet another win!
Next Story