Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


ISL: 10 teams divided into 3 groups, 'home' grounds allotted

ISL: 10 teams divided into 3 groups, home grounds allotted

The Bridge Desk

Published: 18 Aug 2020 3:35 AM GMT

On Monday, all 10 Indian Super League (ISL) football clubs were divided into three groups based on last season’s league standings so as to decide which team gets to call which ground their ‘home’ ground.

“For the sake of identifying their home ground, groups have been made. For example, league champions FC Goa are at Fatorda which means they will play 11 games here,” one official was quoted saying in a report in the Times of India.

As per the report, FC Goa, ATK Mohun Bagan FC and Bengaluru FC were placed in Group A. These teams will get the Nehru Stadium in Fatorda to play their home games. Chennaiyin FC, Mumbai City FC, Odisha FC and Kerala Blasters, who are all in Group B, will play all their home fixtures at Tilak Maidan in Vasco. Jamshedpur FC, NorthEast United and Hyderabad FC, the remaining three teams, are in Group C and they will play their home games at GMC Athletic Stadium in Bambolim.


Earlier it was reported that for the first time in it’s brief existence, the 2020-21 season of the ISL, starting November, will be hosted by a single state, Goa, and behind closed doors in light of the coronavirus pandemic. Football Sports Development Ltd. (FSDL) confirmed the development on Sunday in a press release.

Here’s how the teams have been grouped:

Group A — Fatorda: FC Goa, ATKMB, Bengaluru FC

Group B — Bambolim: Chennaiyin, Mumbai, Odisha, Kerala

Group C — Vasco: Jamshedpur, NorthEast, Hyderabad

Next Story