Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


I-League: RoundGlass Punjab FC confirm 4 new signings on transfer deadline day

I-League: RoundGlass Punjab FC confirm 4 new signings on transfer deadline day

Md Imtiaz

Updated: 21 March 2022 6:54 AM GMT

RoundGlass Sports-owned Punjab FC have announced four new signings on the final day of the transfer window with Joseba Beitia, Bikramjit Singh, Sumeet Passi and Chencho Gyeltshen all joining the club ahead of the new I-League season.

Probably the biggest name amongst the four, former Mohun Bagan midfield schemer Beitia was heavily linked with a move to Kerala Blasters following in the footsteps of head coach Kibu Vicuna who joined the Tuskers from Mohun Bagan earlier this year. However, Punjab FC have now confirmed that they have secured the services of the Real Sociedad academy product who recorded 9 assists and 3 goals last season. Former Mohun Bagan and FC Goa midfielder Bikramjit Singh joins him in the centre of the park after turning out for Odisha FC last season. The experienced 28-year-old was an important part of Chennaiyin FC's title-winning squad in 2017-18 and would be happy returning to his home state at the peak of his powers.

An Indian national team regular under Stephen Constantine, Sumeet Passi joins Punjab on a free after being released by Jamshedpur FC. The Chandigarh boy has previously played in the I-League for DSK Shivajians and the talented centre-forward will hope to impress new head coach Curtis Fleming as he seeks to establish himself as first choice striker for his new side. However, he will have to compete with fellow attacker and new signing Chencho Gyeltshen who has re-joined the club from his hometown side Paro FC. The 'Bhutanese Ronaldo' was the talisman for Minerva Punjab during their maiden I-League title victory in 2017-18, scoring 7 goals in 17 appearances and is back amidst familiar surroundings, albeit under new ownership and management, after three years.

All of these signings look well thought out and should improve the Punjab side inherited by Curtis Fleming from former head coach Yan Law. With the two Kolkata giants moving on to the greener pastures of the Indian Super League (ISL), this just might be the year for Punjab to repeat their 2017-18 feat and lay down a marker for others eyeing the coveted trophy.

Also read: I-League Qualifier 2020: Champions-elect Mohammedan SC held by FC Bengaluru United

Next Story