Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


I-League 2020-21: East Bengal announce three new signings

East Bengal signed Md. Rafique Ali Sardar and Loken Meitei from ISL clubs Jamshedpur FC and Kerala Blasters respectively.

I-League 2020-21: East Bengal announce three new signings

P. Divya Rao

Published: 19 April 2020 6:39 AM GMT

On the same day when Mohun Bagan were declared as the champions of I-League, East Bengal FC announced three new signings, Md. Rafique Ali Sardar and Loken Meitei from Indian Super League (ISL) clubs Jamshedpur FC and Kerala Blasters respectively and TRAU FC youngster Wahengbam Angousana Luwang .

Md. Rafique Ali Sardar is a goalkeeper and has played only six matches for Jamshedpur FC in the last two seasons. The 22-year-old goalkeeper acted second fiddle to Subrata Pal at the football club.

Loken Meitei, on the other hand, is a forward capable of playing all three positions up front. He was loaned to Shillong United and played in the Shillong Premier League. Then he turned out for Real Kashmir in the I-League second division before being picked up by Kerala Blasters.

The Kolkata football giant is on a signing spree as they are bringing in new players every day. They have signed Indo-Iranian winger Omid Singh, Mohamed Irshad, Bikramjit Singh, Gurtej Singh, Lalramchullova and Balwant Singh.

East Bengal is continuing with an aggressive signing mission after their dismissal performance in the recently concluded season of I-League. Rumours are rife that the club will play in the ISL next season and are building a squad capable enough of challenging the best teams of India.

Next Story