Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Football: RoundGlass Sports completes acquisition of Punjab FC

Football: RoundGlass Sports completes acquisition of Punjab FC

Press Releases

Published: 12 April 2020 10:19 AM GMT

RoundGlass Sports has announced the completion of its acquisition of former I-League champions Punjab Football Club (PFC), it said in a statement. RoundGlass Sports will now operate and manage all existing PFC teams including the senior team, the statement said.

Prior to the start of the 2019-2020 season, RoundGlass acquired a 50% stake in Minerva Punjab FCA and the club was officially renamed Punjab FC. On March 17, RoundGlass Sports'' officially took over the remaining 50% ownership of the club.

Coming under the aegis of RoundGlass Sports will further strengthen and invigorate PFC, offering players access to an international-level sports ecosystem through a team of UEFA/AFC/AIFF certified coaches along with world class technical staff, nutritional, educational, medical and training facilities, the statement said.

The RoundGlass Sports Academy will train and field multiple teams under PFC at various age and skill levels -- from as young as U-7 to senior levels.

"RoundGlass Sports will build Punjab Football Club by creating an unparalleled, best-in-class academy rooted in the philosophy of holistic well being. This commitment and investment will identify, nurture, and produce talented players capable of achieving success at the international level," Gurpreet Singh, founder, RoundGlass told IANS.

"We are going to make the dreams of our children come true with our passion and dedication to this mission," he added.

Ranjit Bajaj, co-founder of Punjab FC said, "I am proud of work we have done and results we have achieved with the club. It will be exciting to see RoundGlass Sports take the club to the next level and set new standards for football in India and beyond."

Punjab FC are currently third in the I-League table with 23 points from 16 games. Mohun Bagan have won the title with four rounds to spare before all footballing activity in the country had to be stopped due to the outbreak of COVID-19.

Next Story