Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


CFL 2019/20: East Bengal forfeit final clash as Peerless SC win first-ever title

CFL 2019/20: East Bengal forfeit final clash as Peerless SC win first-ever title

Sarah Waris

Published: 3 Oct 2019 1:41 PM GMT

Peerless SC were crowned the winners of the Calcutta Football League today after East Bengal forfeited their final game that was scheduled to be held at the Kalyani Stadium in Bengal.


The walk-over ensured that Peerless clinched their maiden CFL title whist also confirming their top ranking in the elite tier - premier division 'A'. It was also the first time in 61 years that a team outside East Bengal, Mohammedan Sporting or Mohun Bagan have won the CFL - India's oldest league. The last time a club outside the Big 3 lifted the title was back in 1958 when Easter Railway won the league.

Also read: CFL 2019/20: Peerless set to become first ‘small club’ in 61 years to lift trophy

Peerless had lost to Mohun Bagan last year to finish second in the table. However, they exacted revenge this season, as they not only got the better of Mohun Bagan but also defeated East Bengal en route their top finish in the league table.

East Bengal, needing to win by at least a minimum of seven goals in its last game against Calcutta Customs, did not turn up for the clash, and instead issued an appeal to the Indian Football Association (IFA) one hour before the match to postpone the game on or after October 21, as their head coach Alejandro Menendez was on leave.

The IFA did not agree to the terms, and stuck to the original schedule of holding the game on Thursday. Originally, the match between East Bengal and Calcutta Customs was to be held on September 29, but was postponed to Thursday due to waterlogging on the football field after incessant rainfall.

After East Bengal did not turn up even after 30 minutes of the scheduled match start, the match officials awarded the game to Calcutta Customs. East Bengal finished the CFL with 20 points from 11 games, as Peerless were declared winners.

Next Story