Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Top 5 fastest goals in the history of the ISL

Top 5 fastest goals in the history of the ISL

Sayan Chatterjee

Published: 16 Feb 2021 6:39 AM GMT

When Cleiton Silva scored his first goal of the night against Mumbai City on Monday, he not only set Bengaluru off to an impressive display against the table-toppers, but also etched his name on the list of the fastest goals scored in the Indian Super League (ISL). Here is the newly updated top five list for the fastest goals in the ISL over the years-

Jerry Mawihmingthanga (23 seconds - 2017/18)

The former Jamshedpur FC attacker scored the fastest goal in ISL history on 17th January 2018, when he took just 23 seconds to find the net in a 2-1 victory against Kerala Blasters. The Mizoram boy latched on to a deflected shot from the edge of the penalty box, rounded off the keeper and calmly slotted the ball into an open net. It went on to be only Jamshedpur’s third victory of that season. They eventually finished 5th that season and missed out on qualifying for the playoffs by a whisker.

Cleiton Silva (25 seconds - 2020-21)

The Brazilian’s brace set Bengaluru off to an extremely important and timely 4-2 win against Mumbai City last night. In the process, he managed to score the second fastest goal ever in the league when he turned in Udanta Singh’s perfectly placed cross from the right wing. It was the start of some fantastic attacking football from the Blues, who rode on his and Sunil Chhetri’s brace to secure the victory. They keep their playoff hopes alive but still have to win their remaining two games to stand a chance to qualify.


Chris Dagnall (29 seconds - 2015)

The English striker scored from Kerala Blasters’ first move of the match against NorthEast United with just 29 seconds on the clock. Fellow attacker Antonio German made a dart down the left channel before squaring a beautiful pass for the Englishman who coolly slotted it past the goalkeeper. It was just the start of a dominating 4-1 win for the Tuskers in an otherwise forgettable season where they finished bottom of the table.

Mohammad Rafi (48 seconds - 2015)

That same season, Mohammad Rafi had scored another very early goal for the Tuskers against FC Pune City. Dagnall’s cross was met perfectly by an onrushing Rafi whose lethal strike saw the ball go past the Stallions’ goalkeeper Steve Simonsen and nestle in the back of the net. He scored another one in the 30th minute to cap off a brilliant performance. However, it wasn’t going to be enough for the Blasters as Pune came back to win it 3-2 through a brace from Kalu Uche and another goal by Tuncay Sanli.


Anirudh Thapa (52 seconds - 2020-21)

Earlier this season, Anirudh Thapa had scored a belter against Jamshedpur FC in the first match of Chennaiyin FC’s campaign. It was the Marina Machan’s fastest goal ever and Thapa became the first Indian player to find the back of the net in the ongoing season with that goal. The goal came about from a well weighted Isma Goncalves layoff which Thapa connected with perfectly to put it past TP Rehenesh. Chennaiyin went on to record their first victory of the season by a 2-1 scoreline.

Next Story