Monday, November 30, 2020
  • Players Speak
  • Coach’s Corner
  • Forgotten Heroes
  • Para Sports
  • From The Grassroots
  • Sports Market
  • Videos
Home Cricket Women’s IPL 2020: BCCI announces the venue, fixtures and timings

Women’s IPL 2020: BCCI announces the venue, fixtures and timings

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Sunday announced the timings, fixtures and venue for the 2020 Women’s T20 Challenge. The third edition of the mini tournament will see three teams battle it out for the title.

All the four games of the Women’s T20 challenge will be played from November 4th to November 9th,at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium. Three of those games including the final will be held at 7:30pm IST while the second game will be a day affair starting at 3:30pm IST. The defending champions Supernovas will take on the last year finalists Velocity in the first game of the tournament.

 The Fixtures

November 4:Supernovas v/s Velocity (7:30pm IST)

November 5:Velocity v/s Trailblazers (3:30pm IST)

November 7: Trailblazers v/s Supernovas (7:30pm IST)

November 9: Final (7:30pm IST)

The squads for the tournament were announced earlier on October 11th with Harmanpreet Kaur, Mithali Raj and Smriti Mandhana leading the Supernovas, Velocity and Trailblazers squad respectively.

Supernovas: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Jemimah Rodrigues (VC), ChamariAtapattu, Priya Punia, AnujaPatil, RadhaYadav, Taniya Bhatia (WK), ShashikalaSiriwardene, PoonamYadav, Shakera Selman, Arundhati Reddy, PoojaVastrakar, AyushiSoni, AyabongaKhaka, Muskan Malik.

Velocity: Mithali Raj (captain), Veda Krishnamurthy (VC), ShafaliVerma, SushmaVerma (WK), EktaBisht, Meghna Joshi, ShikhaPandey, DevikaVaidya, SushreeDibyadarshini, ManaliDakshini, Leigh Kasperek, Danielle Wyatt, SunéLuus, JahanaraAlam, M. Anagha.

Trailblazers: Smriti Mandhana (captain), Deepti Sharma (VC), PunamRaut, RichaGhosh, D. Hemalatha, NuzhatParween (WK), RajeshwariGayakwad, HarleenDeol, Jhulan Goswami, SimaranDilBahadur, Salma Khatun, Sophie Ecclestone, NatthakanChantham, DeandraDottin, KashveeGautam.

The Indian contingent for the tournament reached UAE on October 22nd and is currently undergoing the mandatory six day quarantine. Pacer Mansi Joshi who was tested positive for coronavirus before the teams departed was replaced by Meghna Joshi in the Velocity squad.

The BCCI also announced that the men’s IPL playoffs will be held at Dubai and Abu Dhabi. The playoffs will start on November 5th and the final will be held on November 10th at Dubai.

Fixtures for Playoffs

November 5:Qualifier 1 –Team1 v/s Team 2, Dubai

November 6: Eliminator – Team 3 v/s Team 4, Abu Dhabi

November 8: Qualifier 2 – Winner of Eliminator v/s Loser of Qualifier 1, Abu Dhabi

November 10: Final – Winner of Qualifier 1 v/s Winner of Qualifier 2, Dubai



Is the ISL more of a sporting ‘league’ than the IPL?

The Indian Super League (ISL) is a ‘purer’ sporting league than the Indian Premier League (IPL). Don’t believe us? Give us the next five minutes to try and change your mind. We all saw how successful the recently concluded IPL was. Held in Dubai this...