Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Arjun Erigaisi is new national chess champion

GM Arjun Erigaisi won Senior National Chess Championship edging out fellow GMs of Tamil Nadu D Gukesh and P Iniyan

Arjun Erigaisi Chess

Arjun Erigaisi (Source: All India Chess Federation)



Updated: 10 April 2022 12:14 PM GMT

Grandmaster Arjun Erigaisi of Telangana won the 58th edition of Senior National Chess Championship on Thursday, edging out fellow GMs of Tamil Nadu D Gukesh and P Iniyan in a tie-breaker after the trio finished on 8.5 points each.

The 18-year-old Erigaisi remained unbeaten in 11 rounds and ended up with a score of 8.5 points for his maiden Senior National title. He drew his final round game against former champion S P Sethuraman.

Gukesh had to settle for a draw against Aryan Chopra while Iniyan moved up to 8.5 points with a fine win over fellow GM Mitrabha Guha of West Bengal.

Defending champion Aravindh Chithambaram of Tamil Nadu finished fourth with eight points, while top-seed and pre-tournament favourite B Adhinan ended a distant 20th.

Erigaisi and Gukesh began the day on eight points and both had a chance of laying their hands on the top prize. Iniyan defeated Guha to make it an interesting battle for the title.

However, Erigaisi and Gukesh were held to draws, meaning a three-way tie for the top place with the former emerging victorious on the basis of a better tie-break score.

Erigaisi has been in impressive form of late and recently won the Tata Steel Challengers title in Wijk Aan Zee, the Netherlands. The champion received Rs 6 lakh prize money.

Important Results of Round 11: Arjun Erigaisi (Telangana) (8.5) drew with S P Sethuraman (8), P Iniyan (TN) (8.5) beat Mitrabha Guha (7.5); Aravindh Chithambaram (TN) (8) drew with Aryan Chopra (Delhi) (8); V Pranav (8) drew with N R Visakh (8); Deep Sengupta (7.5) drew with Aravindh Chithambaram (8); Karthikeyan Murali (8) beat Aditya Mittal (7); Koustav Chatterjee (8) beat M R Lalith Babu (6.5); B Adhiban (7) drew with Himal Gussain (7).

Final standings (top 10): 1. Arjun Erigaisi, 2. D Gukesh, 3. P Iniyan, 4. Aravindh Chithambaram, 5. Aryan Chopra, 6. Koustav Chatterjee, 7. Karthikeyan Murali, 8. N R Visakh, 9. S P Sethuraman, 10. V Pranav.

Next Story