Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Boxing: Mary Kom to make competitive debut in 51kg at home

Boxing: Mary Kom to make competitive debut in 51kg at home

Press Release

Published: 13 May 2019 1:52 PM GMT
With Olympic qualification round the corner, the second edition of the India Open Boxing Tournament kickstarts with 35 men and 37 women boxers from India vying for glory as close to 200 pugilists from 16 boxing powerhouses will participate at this tournament to be held at the Karmabir Nabin Chandra Bordoloi Indoor Stadium in Guwahati, Assam from May 20-24. The $70,000 tournament will see London Olympic bronze medallist Mary Kom making her competitive debut at home in 51kg after opting out of the Asian Championships last month in order to prepare for the World Championships as the event will serve as good preparatory ground for Olympic qualification.
“I have been preparing well for the 51kg category. Having got a real hand idea of the competition in this class in Germany, I am ready to give my best at this tournament and test myself ahead of the World Championships,”
said Mary Kom, who led six Indian boxers to gold in the last edition in New Delhi. “I am glad the event will be hosted in Assam this time. With the North-East being a powerhouse of talent, I hope this gives an opportunity to the youngsters to watch and get inspired by watching us live,” she further added. Keeping in mind the approved weight categories for Olympic qualification, some of the Indian pugilists have changed their weight categories
. 6-time WC Mary Kom along with (L-R) Assam's Champion boxer and WC medalists, Lovlina Borgohain, Sinramjeet Kaur and Sonia Chahel gear up for 2nd edition of India Open in Guwahati After her stunning performance at the Asian Championships, where she became the first Indian to win a gold in 81kg, Pooja Rani has gone back to her original weight category of 75kg. Assam’s Bhagyabati Kachari too has made a similar change while Asian Championships bronze medallist Manisha Moun will be fighting it out in 57kg for the very first time. Simranjit Kaur, a silver medallist at the continental tournament in 64kg, has switched to 60kg as well and will be competing with former world champion Sarita Devi, who added her eighth Asian medal this year. While the six-time world champion will be India’s biggest medal hope yet again,
Amit Panghal
(52kg) will be looking to continue his dominance after conquering the Asian Championships gold. Amit Panghal Assam’s Shiva Thapa (60kg), who created a record by winning medals in four consecutive Asian Championships, will be aiming to impress the home crowd and so will Ankushita Boro (64kg), a gold medallist at the 2017 World Youth Championship. 2017 World Boxing Championships bronze medallist Gaurav Bidhuri (56kg) will be another of the big medal bets from India. The seven-day tournament will be held under the auspices of Government of India, Ministry Youth Affairs and Sports and the Sports Authority of India. The Assam government too has lent its full support to stage the event in Guwahati.
“The India Open is a great opportunity for the Indian boxers. In the run-up to their preparations for the World Championships, they will be facing some of the top boxers including Asian Games and World champions,”
said Ajay Singh, President of the Boxing Federation of India (BFI). “BFI vision is to take boxing to every corner of the country. Staging the second edition of the India Open in Assam will give step in that direction and a chance to bring world-class boxers to the North-East region which has already contributed many Indian boxing success stories for India and will inspire the next generation to take up the sport in a much bigger way,”
he further added. In the upcoming edition, while the gold medallists will get richer by $2,500, the silver medallists will receive $1,000 for their exploits as the countdown for the tournament begins. Elite Men’s Team – India
Sl No Name Category
1 Deepak 49kg
2 Govind Kumar Sahani 49kg
3 Neeraj Swami 49kg
4 Amit 52kg
5 Gaurav Solanki 52kg
6 Sachin 52kg
7 Lalitha Prasad Polipalli 52kg
8 Kavinder Singh Bisht 56kg
9 Hussamuddin Mohammed 56kg
10 Madan Lal 56kg
11 Gaurav Bidhuri 56kg
12 Shiva Thapa 60kg
13 Manish Kaushik 60kg
14 Ankit 60kg
15 Rohit Tokas 64kg
16 Ankit Khatana 64kg
17 Ankush Dahiya 64kg
18 Dinesh 69kg
18 Ashish 69kg
19 Duryodhan Singh Negi 69kg
20 Ashish Kumar 75kg
21 Prayag Chauhan 75kg
22 Manjeet Singh Panghal 75kg
23 Kavi 75kg
24 Brijesh Yadav 81kg
25 Sanjay 81kg
26 Manish Panwar 81kg
27 Harsh Lakra 81kg
28 Sumit Sangwan 91kg
29 Naman Tanwar 91kg
 30 Sanjeet 91kg
31 Parveen Kumar 91kg
32 Satish Kumar Plus 91kg
33 Atul Thakur Plus 91kg
34 Naveen Kumar Plus 91kg
35 Hitesh Plus 91kg
                                   Elite Women’s Team - India
1 Nitu 48kg
2 Manju Rani 48kg
3 Monika 48kg
4 Kalaivani Srinivasan 48kg
5  Zareen Nikhat 51kg
6 Pinki Rani 51kg
7 Chungneijang Mery Kom Hmangte 51kg
8 VanlalDuati 51kg
9 Jyoti 51kg
10 Anamika 51kg
11 Meenakumari Devi Maisnam 54kg
12 Shiksha 54kg
13 Jamuna Boro 54kg
14 Sandhyarani Devi Yengkhom 54kg
15 Sonia 57kg
16 Sakshi 57kg
17 Sonia Lather 57kg
18 Manisha 57kg
19 Neeraj 57kg
20 Kros Hmangaihsangi 57kg
21 Laishram Sarita Devi 60kg
22 Simranjit Kaur Baatth 60kg
23 Parveen 60kg
24 Shashi Chopra 60kg
25 Priyanka Choudhary 60kg
26 Preeti Beniwal 60kg
27 Pwilao Basumatary 64kg
28 Manju Bamboriya 64kg
29 Ankushita Boro 64kg
30 Lalita 64kg
31 Lovlina Borgohain 69kg
32 Anjali 69kg
33 Nupur 75kg
34 Pooja 75kg
35 Saweety 75kg
36 Pooja Rani 75kg
37 Bhagyabati Kachari 75kg
Next Story