Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


What clicked for PV Sindhu at the BWF World Tour Finals

What clicked for PV Sindhu at the BWF World Tour Finals


Updated: 30 July 2021 4:24 PM GMT
P V Sindhu wins her first major tournament this year by winning BWF World Tour Finals against Japan's Nozomi Okuhara. This year, Sindhu was not able to bring out the best in her final games to win the tournaments but BWF Tour the story was completely different.

Round Robin Performance

In the round robin stage of the tournament, Sindhu was not able to ultimately capitalise on her opponents in the first two rounds. The points won are 54.8% and 50.5% respectively which shows the competition was neck to neck. In Round 2, she had to struggle the most as she lost her first game to world no 1 TAI Tzu Ying 14-21. After losing the first game, Sindhu came back strongly to win the match 21-16, 21-18. Victory against world no 1 helped her to get a big boost and her performance enhanced in round 3 where she won 63.6% of the points against her opponent. One critical part of this game was that she finished the game in 35 minutes which helped her to stay fresh physically and mentally for semi-finals.

Eliminator performance

In the eliminator phase, Sindhu did not drop a set which helped her to build confidence in the game to win the championship. The games were very close as she earned an average of 54% of the total points which is impressive. One big important part of her improvement as performance is she was able to capitalise on her first set win in both semi-finals and finals.She failed to do so in Olympics 2016 finals against Spain's Carolina Marin and ended up winning the silver medal. PV Sindhu ended the year on a high with BWF Series win, but most importantly she has improved herself at different stages of the game. This win will give her a lot of confidence moving forward, and consistency in performance at big stages will yield her gold medal in upcoming Tokyo Olympics 2020.
Also read: WATCH: Most memorable win this year- PV Sindhu
Next Story