Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Badminton Asia Junior C'ships: Tara Shah, Rakshitha Sree reach pre-quarters

Junior Indian shuttlers Tara Shah and Rakshitha Sree reached the pre-quarterfinals of Badminton Asia Junior Championships.

Badminton Asia Junior Cships: Tara Shah, Rakshitha Sree reach pre-quarters

Tara Shah (left) and Rakshitha Sree (right) moved to the pre-quarterfinals of Badminton Asia Junior Championships.


The Bridge Desk

Updated: 13 July 2023 3:55 PM GMT

Tara Shah and Rakshitha Sree won their round of 32 matches to move to the pre-quarterfinals of the Badminton Asia Junior Championships in Yogyakarta, Indonesia, on Thursday.

In an easy match against Miku Kohara of Japan, Tara Shah exhibited exceptional skills and aggression as she dominated her opponent throughout the match and won with a stunning scoreline of 21-6, 21-17. Tara will take on China's Xu Wen Jing in the next round.

Following her fellow shuttler, Rakshitha Sree also dominated her opponent and displayed her prowess on the court as she triumphed over Malaysia's Carine Tee with an impressive score of 21-8, 21-10 in a match that lasted 24 minutes. She will face Huang Lin Ran of China in the pre-quarterfinal.

The girls' doubles duo of Taneesha and Karnika won against Bui and Tran of Japan 21-14, 21-19 in 27 minutes. They will square off against Chen Fan Shu and Jiang Pei Xi of China in the round of 16 matches tomorrow.

In boys' singles, Ayush Shetty showcased resilience against Japan's Yuna Nakagawa in a hard-fought match but ultimately lost 19-21, 22-20, 16-21 in a close match.

Similarly, in the mixed doubles, Samarveer and Radhika Sharma narrowly missed out on a win in a thrilling three-game encounter against China's Gao Jia Xuan and Chen Fan Shu Tian, as the latter won 21-19, 19-21, 17-21.

The boys' doubles pair of Divyam & Mayank and Nicholas Raj & Tushar Suveer lost their matches and bowed out of the tournament, not whereas the girls' doubles duo of Tanvi Sharma and Radhika Sharma also ended their campaign in the round of 32.

Meanwhile, in the boys' singles- Lakshay Sharma and Samarveer, and in the girls' singles category- Shriyanshi Valishetty and Anmol Kharb gave their all but lost their respective matches.

Arul Murugan and Srinidhi Narayanan also went down fighting in their round of 32 matches.

Next Story