Wednesday, June 3, 2020
To Go
  • Players Speak
  • Coach’s Corner
  • Forgotten Heroes
  • Para Sports
  • From The Grassroots
  • Sports Market
  • Videos
Home Badminton 2019 Korea Open: History of Indian shuttlers at the tournament

2019 Korea Open: History of Indian shuttlers at the tournament


The 2019 Korea Open kickstarts on Tuesday with the world’s top shuttlers gruelling amongst themselves in the BWF Super 500 Event. Compared to other BWF events, India has tasted relatively lesser success with only one silver medal and one gold to their showing. The event will conclude on 29th of the same month, and PV Sindhu remains the safest bet for India to bag a medal.

In the Men’s Singles EVENT, Parupalli Kashyap, and B Sai Praneeth will take charge, whereas Saina Nehwal will look forward to bring laurels to the nation in Women’s Singles alongside Sindhu. India has two entries in the Men’s Doubles in the form of Manu Attri and B Sumeeth Reddy, and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty. India doesn’t have any entry in the Women’s Doubles and Mixed Doubles.

Before the tournament kickstarts, let’s look back and assess the performance of the Indian shuttlers in the Korea Open.

Ajay Jayaram (Silver in 2015 Korea Open Super Series)

Ajay Jayaram reached the finals of the 2015 Korea Open and it remains India's best performance in the Men's Singles till date
Ajay Jayaram reached the finals of the 2015 Korea Open and it remains India’s best performance in the Men’s Singles till date

The Indian challenge in Men’s Singles in the 2015 edition was led by H.S. Prannoy and Parupalli Kashyap. But, once both of them got knocked out in the opening round, Ajay Jayaram was the only hope. The Mumbai-born took out Viktor Axelsen in the first round in straight sets before setting up a clash with future Olympic gold-medallist Chen Long.

Jayaram was no match for the Chinese athlete as he got humbled 14-21, 13-21 in straight sets. He is currently ranked 87th in Men’s Singles and won’t be taking part in 2019 Korea Open. It remains to be seen whether Parupalli Kashyap and B Sai Praneeth can better his record in the Men’s Singles this edition.

PV Sindhu (Gold in 2017 Korea Open Super Series)

PV Sindhu is the only Indian to win gold in any edition of Korea Open
PV Sindhu is the only Indian to win gold in any edition of Korea Open

After succumbing in the second round in 2015 Korea Open Super Series and missing out the next one due to injury, PV Sindhu set her eye on gold. Seeded fifth, Sindhu stormed through her first two challenges in straight sets before getting the better of Minatsu Mitani who ousted then World No. 1 Tai Tzu-Ying.

In the semi-finals, she met her familiar foe He Bingjiao but maintained her composure to win the tie. Nozomi Okuhara was next in the finals and Sindhu beat her 22-20, 11-21, 21-18 to clinch the gold.

PV Sindhu has a simple draw up to the second round of 2019 Korea Open, but could meet Okuhara once again in the quarter-finals.

Jwala Gutta and Diju Valiyaveetil (Reached semi-finals of 2009 Korea Open Super Series)

Jwala Gutta and Diju Valiyaveetil were India’s only representative in the 2009 Korea Open and reached the semi-finals in Mixed Doubles’ event.

India didn’t have any representative in any of the events of the 2009 Korea Open apart from the Mixed Doubles’ Event where the onus laid on Jwala Gutta and Diju Valiyaveetil to bring home the honours.

They defeated the Indonesian pair of Rendra Wijaya and Meiliana Jauhari 21-17, 16-21, 21-9 before losing to the Thailand duo of Songphon Anugritayawon and Kunchala Voravichitchaikul 19-21, 20-22 in a close encounter.

There will be no Indian representative in Mixed Doubles in 2019 Korea Open as Jwala Gutta and Diju Valiyaveetil’s performance remains the best till date.


Anil Khanna says can’t authorise expenditure in absence of approval from prez or SG

Anil Khanna
Indian Olympic Association's finance committee chairman Anil Khanna on Friday defended his decision not to give clearance for hotel bookings relating to Tokyo Games in 2019, saying "FC has no power to approve even one rupee expenditure" without sanction from either the president or...
To Go