Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Tamil Nadu sweeps podium places in 200m at the National Inter-State Athletics Championships

Tamil Nadu sweeps podium places in 200m at the National Inter-State Athletics Championships

Press Release

Published: 28 Aug 2019 4:20 AM GMT

Tamil Nadu’s Archana Suseendran fell back on her superior endurance to sustain her speed and the beat back a stiff challenge by her team-mate V Revathi and win the women’s 200m final on a humid opening day of the 59th National Inter-State Athletics Championships at the PAC Stadium here on Tuesday.

The men and women’s 5000m races were understandably on the slower side, given the tough conditions, but both held the goodly crowd in thrall with G Lakshmanan (Tamil Nadu) and Parul Chaudhary, the home favourite, producing expected finishing bursts to push Bugutha Srinu (Andhra Pradesh) and L Suriya (Tamil Nadu) to second place respectively.

Archana Suseendran’s time of 23.39 seconds fell short of the World Championship qualifying standard (23.02) but was happy that she could break the beam first despite not having had a good night’s sleep overnight. Having clocked a personal best time of 23.18 seconds in the Indian Grand Prix V in Patiala on August 16, the 25-year-old justified her billing as favourite to win the event. Odisha’s Srabani Nanda cried off from the championships, leaving the Tamil Nadu trio to sweep the podium places.

“I had a restless night, but I knew I had to win the race today at any cost,” Archana Suseendran said.

“I would have liked a bit more time to recover from the heats, but I am glad I was able to clock a good time on a track that is not as bouncy as the one in Patiala. I am glad I was able to justify the faith that my coaches have in me in the National camp.”

The men’s 400m heats saw Delhi’s Vikrant Panchal (47.25 seconds) and Kerala’s Alex Anthony (47.59) lead a bunch of four runners who dipped in under 48 seconds. AyyasamyDharun, returning to competitive racing from injury and rehabilitation, won a slow first round heats in 48.40 seconds while the other 400m who was running under AFI colours, Mohan Kumar Raja, also qualified for the semifinals with a time of 48.08.

Tamil Nadu’s Nithin was the fastest qualifier for the men’s 200m final, clocking 21.16 seconds. He beat Haryana’s Vikas Sheokhand to second place in the faster of the two semifinals. Delhi’s Akshay Nain (21.39) finished ahead Odisha’s Amiya Mallick (21.63) in the first semifinal. The final promises to be keenly contested.

The results (all finals):


5000m:1. G Lakshmanan (Tamil Nadu) 14:34.30; 2. Bugatha Srinu (Andhra Pradesh) 14:35.30; 3. Man Singh (Uttarakhand) 14:40.63.

Pole vault:1. Jessan (Kerala) 4.90m; 2. Ebin Sunny (Kerala) 4.80; 3. Bineesh Jacob (Karnataka) 4.80.


200m:1. Archana Suseendran (Tamil Nadu) 23.39 seconds; 2. V Revathi (Tamil Nadu) 23.59; 3. Dhana Lakshmi (Tamil Nadu) 24.22.

5000m:1. Parul Chaudhary (Uttar Pradesh) 17:51.38; 2. L Suriya (Tamil Nadu) 17:51.88; 3. Arati Patil (Maharashtra) 17:55.90.

Discus throw:1. Navjeet Kaur Dhillon (Punjab) 55.42m; 2. Suravi Biswas (West Bengal) 49.44; 3. Pramila (Rajasthan) 47.54.

Hammer throw:1. Manju Bala (Rajasthan) 57.71m; 2. Jyoti Jakhar (Haryana) 55.71; 3. Anmol Kaur (Punjab) 54.85.

High jump:1. AthiraSomaraj (Kerala) 1.76m; 2. LibiaShaji (Kerala) 1.76; 3. LaimwnNazary (Assam) 1.73.

20km walk:1. B Soumya (Kerala) 1:48:19.35; 2. Priyanka Goswai (Uttar Pradesh) 1:48:21.61; 3. SonalSukhwal (Rajasthan) 1:48:40.12.


4x400m relay:1. Kerala (Kannan C, PO Sayana, S Rajendran and NH Faiyiz) 3:31.62; 2. Delhi e:33.85; 3. Maharashtra 3:37.47.

Next Story