Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Neeraj Chopra’s javelin throw record broken at U20 Athletics Fed Cup

Neeraj Chopra’s javelin throw record broken at U20 Athletics Fed Cup

Press Releases

Published: 26 Jan 2021 5:06 AM GMT

Haryana’s Yashvir Singh stole the thunder from distance runners Sunil Dawar (Madhya Pradesh) and Ankita (Uttarakhand) as the trio heralded the return of national-level athletics competition with new meet records in the 18th National Federation Cup Junior (U20) Athletics Championships in the TT Nagar Stadium here on Monday.

The 19-year-old Yashvir Singh broke Neeraj Chopra’s meet record in winning the Javelin Throw with a best effort of 78.68m to surge past the 76.91m that had given Neeraj Chopra the meet record in Hyderabad in 2015. His five valid throws went past the 75m, the best coming from his second attempt.

The 18-year-old Ankita claimed the first new mark after national-level competition resumed after the Milo National Inter-District Junior Athletics Championships in Tirupati in November 2019, the Khelo India Youth Games in Guwahati in January 2020 and the Khelo India University Games in Bhubaneshwar in February 2020.

Yashvir Singh (Source: Athletics Federation of India) Yashvir Singh (Source: Athletics Federation of India)

The girl from Uttarakhand ran the 5000m race at her own pace to finish in 16:37.90 to claim top honours in the Federation Cup Junior Athletics Championships for the second successive time. She lowered Suman Rani’s record of 17:02.67 set in Coimbatore in 2018. Ankita had won the 5000m race in Tiruvannamalai in September 2019 with a time of 17:16.49,

Ankita went on to add the 1500m title, doing just enough to stay ahead of Haryana’s Pooja and winning with a time of 4:27.54.

Sunil Dawar, a South Asian Games 5000m silver medallist in 2019, claimed the 1500m meet mark by clocking 3:48.54 to improve on the 3:51.16 set by Shashi Bhushan Singh in Hyderabad in 2015. With Sree Kiran finishing nearly 10 seconds later, Sunil Dawar would have been left wishing for stiffer competition and a crack at Ajay Kumar Saroj’s National mark of 3:44.96 set in 2016.

Saurabh Rajesh Naitam (Maharashtra) and Taranjeet Kaur (Delhi) emerged the fastest athletes of the meet, winning the men and women’s 100m sprints respectively in 10.51 seconds and 11.70 seconds.

The results (all finals):


100m: 1. Saurabh Rajesh Naitam (Maharashtra) 10.51 seconds; 2. Abhin B Devadiga (Karnataka) 10.54; 3. Aaditya Tomar (Uttar Pradesh) 10.89.

1500m: 1. Sunil Dawar (Madhya Pradesh) 3:48.54 (New Meet Record. Old: 3:51.16, Shashi Bhushan Singh, Hyderabad, 2015); 2. Sree Kiran (Tamil Nadu) 3:55.17; 3. Mohammed Nur Hasan (Uttar Pradesh) 3:55.21.

10000m: 1. M Sathish Kumar (Tamil Nadu) 30:17.47; 2. Sushant Manohar Jedhe (Maharashtra) 31:22.14; 3. Amaresh Kumar Prajapat (Delhi) 31:23.96.

Javelin Throw: 1. Yashvir Singh (Haryana) 78.68m (New Meet Record. Old: 76.91m, Neeraj Chopra, Hyderabad, 2015); 2. Jay Kumar (Uttar Pradesh) 72.29; 3. Kunwar Ajai Raj Singh Rai (Punjab) 66.38.


100m: 1. Taranjeet Kaur (Delhi) 11.70 seconds; 2. Anjali PD Dileesh (Kerala) 11.88; 3. Sudeshna Hanmant Shiva (Maharashtra) 11.91.

1500m: 1. Ankita (Uttarakhand) 4:27.54; 2. Pooja (Haryana) 4:28.61; 3. Megha (Haryana) 4:44.75.

5000m: 1. Ankita (Uttarakhand) 16:37.90 (New Meet Record. Old: 17:02.67, Suman Rani, 2018); 2. Chatru Gumnaram (Rajasthan) 17:06.03; 3. Supriti Kachhap (Jharkhand)17:08.30.

High Jump: 1. Tanu (Haryana) 1.66m; 2. Kevinaa Ashwine Annavi (Tamil Nadu) 1.63m; 3. Sphurti Subhash Mane (Maharashtra) 1.60m.

Shot Put: 1. Rekha (Haryana) 14.14m; 2. Kavita Kumari (Rajasthan) 13.23; 3. Simranjeet Kaur (Delhi) 12.53.

Also read: PT Usha’s coach O M Nambiar awarded Padma Shri

Next Story