Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Athletics: Dharun Ayyasamy, Dutee Chand shines at Indian Grand Prix-2

Athletics: Dharun Ayyasamy, Dutee Chand shines at Indian Grand Prix-2

Press Release

Published: 27 Feb 2019 3:09 PM GMT
New Delhi: Hurdler Dharun Ayyasamy clocked a timing of 49.94s to win his second consecutive gold medal in the Indian Grand Prix series 2019 here at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in New Delhi on Wednesday. The 24-year old improved his timing from 50.07s clocked by him at IGP-1 held in Patiala on Saturday. Santhosh Kumar took the second place with a timing of 50.77s and the bronze medal went to Ramachandran clocking 50.83s. All three medals went to the athletes from Tamil Nadu. Asian Games Silver Medalist Dutee Chand ran 23.30s to win her second gold medal in the IGP series. The timing will help Dutee Chand improve her IAAF World Ranking in the 200m event. Her timing also ensured that the Odisha sprinter made the qualifying cut-off for the Asian Athletics Championships to be held in Doha. The Silver medal went to Anjali Devi of Haryana with a timing of 24.15s. Supriya Mandal of Andhra Pradesh clocked 24.48s to bag the bronze medal in this event.
MR Poovamma
and Vismaya V K, part of the Asian games 4x400m relay winning team bagged the gold and silver medals in the 400m event. Poovamma clocked 54.12s while Vismaya finished with a timing of 54.76s. The bronze medal went to Prachi of Uttar Pradesh clocking a timing of 54.74s. Arokia Rajiv of Tamil Nadu ran 46.49s to win the men’s 400m gold medal in IGP-2 and started the season with a victory. The silver medal went to Jeevan K.S. of Karnataka by running 47.02s and winning his second medal in the IGP series. Kunhu Mohammed of Kerala claimed Bronze medal with a time of 47.19s. Ajay Kumar Saroj
got back his lost form and won the gold medal in 1500m by clocking a time of 3:46.10. The silver medal went to his state-mate Rahul of Uttar Pradesh recording timing of 3:48.15. The bronze medal went to Ankit of Haryana 3:49.90 The last event of the day 1500m women turned to be the most thrilling race in which P.U. Chitra outran Lily Das of West Bengal to win the gold medal by clocking 4:20.76. Lily won silver with a time of 4: 20.89. The third place went to Usha Sati of Delhi who clocked 5:08.07s.

Results of all the other events held today:

Discus Throw Men: 1. Mithravarun S (TN) 52.62m, 2. Arvind Rathee (Haryana) 48.98m, 3. Surjeet Gurra (Delhi) 47.62m;
200m Men
: 1. Nisar Ahmad (Delhi) 22.05s, 2.Emmanuel Paul (MP) 22.37s, 3. Abhinav Panwar (Delhi) 22.51s; Shot Put Men: 1.Parveen (Haryana) 17.37m, 2. Sahib Singh (Delhi) 16.53m, 3. Venkatesh Naidu (AP) 13.20m; Triple Jump Women: 1.Renu (Haryana) 12.76m, 2. Sheena (Kerala) 12.45m, 3.Sonam (UP) 12.34m; Javelin Throw Men: 1. Abhishek Singh (UP) 78.24m, 2.Abhishek Drall (Delhi) 75.19m, 3.Yashvir Singh (Rajasthan) 67.95m; Shot Put Women: 1.Kachnar Chaudary (Rajasthan) 14.41m, 2.Anamika Das (WB) 13.75m, 3.Sonal Goyal (Delhi) 13.21m; Javelin Throw Women: 1.Sharmila Kumari (Haryana) 50.94m, 2.Rupinder Kaur (Punjab) 48.62m Discus Throw Women: 1.Navjeet Kaur Dhillion (Punjab) 54.92m, 2.Nidhi Rani (Haryana) 45.95m, 3. Surgyan Choudhary (Rajasthan) 25.19m Triple Jump Men: 1. S.N.Mohammed Salahuddin (TN) 15.80m, 2.Jay Shah (Maharashtra) 15.44m, 3.Praveen Chithravel (TN) 15.40m
Next Story