Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Commonwealth Games 2018: AFI announces Indian squad

Commonwealth Games 2018: AFI announces Indian squad

Press Releases

Published: 10 March 2018 6:34 AM GMT
The Athletics Federation of India (AFI) announced the squad for the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games which begins on the 4th of April. After the list was sent to the sports ministry for approval, confirmed names have now been announced. Of the quota of 37 athletes, thirteen have qualified on the basis of CWG protocol while some athletes who came close to the mark were given a benefit of doubt and have been included in the 2018 Commonwealth squad. One such inclusion is that of Vipin Kasana, who missed the qualifying mark by 1.76m at the recently concluded Indian Grand Prix meet in Patiala.
Sreeshankar M
. is yet another athlete who was included in the squad based on the fact that he missed the mark by only a centimetre in long jump. Among other athletes who were given the green signal without having made the qualifying norm were the likes of Neena Pinto (long jump), Rakesh Babu AV (Triple jump), Purnima Hembram (heptathlon). The inclusion of names based on grace points could prove to be a hindrance later on, such as that of Kasana who has not been among the most consistent athletes that India have produced. The AFI will soon turn their attention to the selection of the men and women's 4x400m relay teams for 2018 Commonwealth games. For the selection of these teams, it is estimated that the AFI will select the top six quarter-milers at the Federation Cup. Youngster Hima Das who regaled the audience with her perfect performance at the Athletics Federation Cup earned her a berth for the Gold Coast bound team. The list comprises of 31 athletes- eighteen men and thirteen women. Final Squad:
: Jinson Johnson (1500m), Rakesh Babu AV (Triple jump), Muhammad Anas (4X400m relay), Amoj Jacob (4X400m Relay) Dharun Ayyasamy (400m hurdles), Sreeshankar M (long jump), Arpinder Singh (Triple jump), Tejinder Pal Singh Toor (shot put), Neeraj Chopra, Vipin Kasana (javelin), Tejaswin Shankar, Siddharth Yadav (high jump), KT Irfan, Manish Singh Rawat (race walking), KS Jeevan (4X400m Relay), Kunhu Muhammad (4X400m Relay), Jithu Baby(4x400m Relay), Arokiya Rajiv(4x400m Relay). Women: Hima Das (400m), Seema Punia, Navjeet Kaur Dhillon (discus), Nayana James, Neena Pinto (long jump), Purnima Hembram (heptathlon), Soumya B, Khushbir Kaur (race walking), Sonya Baisya (4X400m Relay), Loganath Suriya (10000m), MR Poovamma (4X400m Relay), Sarita Gaikwardd (4X400m), Jauna Murmu (400) --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Also read: Pullouts from Athletics Federation Cup put a dent in India's CWG chances
Next Story