India at Asian Games

India @ Hangzhou

Gold 5
silver 7
Bronze 10
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Athletics: Four more golds for India at Asian Youth Championships

Athletics: Four more golds for India at Asian Youth Championships

Press Release

Published: 16 March 2019 1:56 PM GMT
Vishvendra Singh broke the Asian Youth Record with a timing of 44:09.75 in 10000m Race Walk and secured the third gold medal for India at the 3rd Asian Youth Athletics Championships being held in Hong Kong. Earlier this record was held by fellow Indian Sanjay Kumar (45:30.39). Paramjeet Singh Bisht won the bronze medal in the same event by clocking a time of 44.21.96. On the second day of the competition on Saturday, Usaid Khan maintained his lead from overnight and finished with 6952 points to get his first gold medal in the continental championship. He broke the earlier championship record of 6671 points held by Mohammed Alferas of Kuwait.
Ansar Ali
of India stacked up 5943 points to win the bronze medal in the same event. Thabitha P.M. of India leapt to 5.86m in her fourth attempt and won her second gold medal for India in this championship. Another Indian in the fray Ambrikha Narzary bagged the bronze medal with a jump of 5.73m in her fourth attempt. Thabitha PM (Image: Rahul D Pawar) 400m Runner Abdul Razak of India carried his brilliant form from heats to win the fifth gold medal for India with a timing of 48.17s. Earlier in the heats held yesterday, he finished first overall to qualify for finals. The silver medal went to Sri Lankan athlete Sandeesh Navishka (48.26s) and the Bronze medal was won by Yefin of Kazakhstan (48.59s). Another Indian in the competition, Ramachandra got disqualified due to a false start in the finals. Fastest female athlete of Asian Youth Championship 2019 was India’s
Avantika Santhosh Narale
who clocked a timing of 11.97s in 100m sprint. She got the sixth gold medal for the country. Atul Kumar of India clocked 6:00.45 to win the silver medal in 2000m Steeple Chase event. India ended the second day on the top of medal tally with seven gold medals, two Silver medals and five bronze medals. Avanthika Narale (Image: Rahul D Pawar) Results of Other Indians in Finals and Heats – 100m Men Final- 8. Shashikant Veerupakshappa Angadi (10.98s) 400m Girls Final- 4.Priya Mohan (56.46s) and 5.Sandra Ajimon (56.73s) 200m Boys Heats – 5. Shanmuga Srinivas Nalubothu (22.12s) and 7.Shashikant Veerupakshappa Angadi (22.09s) qualified for the finals. 200m Girls Heats- 2.Deepthi Jeevanji (25.32s) and 4.Avantika Santhosh Narale (25.19s) qualified for the finals. 800m Girls Heats- 1.Priscilla Daniel (2:11.55- Championship Record) and 2.Pooja (2:12.25) qualified for the finals.
Next Story