Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


Athletics: Controversy surrounds squad for Asian C'ships; Tintu Luka reportedly retires

Athletics: Controversy surrounds squad for Asian Cships; Tintu Luka reportedly retires

Press Releases

Published: 21 March 2019 5:54 AM GMT
As reported by the Times of India, track athlete Tintu Luka will no longer be competing and representing India as a track athlete based on the letter sent in to the Athletics Federation of India (AFI) by her mentor, the great PT Usha. The athlete has a total of three medals at the Asian Games won over the 2010 and the 2014 editions. Luka's name was among the list of campers who would be training at Usha school of Athletics from October last year. According to reports, she attended the camp for a few months and decided to withdraw. Even more recently, she had to be left out of the Asian Games contingent representing India due to an injury. "It seems she has decided to end her successful career. Her coach PT Usha has sent a letter to the AFI asking it to remove her name from the list of campers," sources were quoted as saying by TOI. Tintu Luka, for a long time, was the reigning name for 800mts among Indian athletes. Her personal best came in 2010 when she clocked 1:59.17. She was a part of the Usha School of Athletics since its inception being one of the breakthrough stars of the first batch. She has reportedly left the school as of last month. In other news, the AFI announced the Indian contingent for the upcoming Asian Athletics Championships and there was controversy regarding the exclusion of National champion and current High Jump National Record holder Tejaswin Shankar from the list.
The squad:
Men: 4x400m relay: Arokia Rajiv, Md. Anas, Kunhu Mohammed, Jeevan KS, Jithu Baby, Alex A; 800m: Jinson Johnson, Manjit Singh; 1500m: Jinson Johnson, Ajay Kumar Saroj; 3000m steeplechase: Avinash Sable, Shankar Lal Swami; 400m hurdles: Dharun Ayyasamy, Jabir MP; shot put: Tajinder Pal Singh Toor; javelin: Neeraj Chopra, Shivpal Singh Women: 200m: Dutee Chand; 4x400m relay: Hima Das, MR Poovamma, Saritaben Gayakwad, Jisna Mathew, Vismaya VK, Sonia Baishya; 1500m: Lili Das, Chitra PU; 400m hurdles: Saritaben Gayakwad; javelin: Annu Rani; heptathlon: Swapna Barman, Purnima Hembram Pending confirmatory trials: 800m: Gomathi Marimuthu, Twinkle Chaudhary; 5000m: Parul Chaudhary; 3000m steeplechase: Parul Chaudhary, Sudha Singh; 400m hurdles: Arpitha M; discus throw: Kamalpreet Kaur, Navjeet Kaur Dhillon; javelin: Sharmila Kumari; 4x100m: Dutee Chand, Archana Suseendran, Ranga K, Hina, Revathi B, Dhanalakshmi S
Next Story